Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Gene Dresselhaus
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


"For pioneering research on spin-orbit coupling in crystals, particularly the foundational discovery of chiral spin-orbit interactions, which continue to enable new developments in spin transport and topological materials."


Gene Dresselhaus studied physics at the University of California at Berkeley where he worked with Kittel and Kip on the early cyclotron resonance experiments on semiconductors and semimetals. His early postdoctoral work was at the University of Chicago and then a junior faculty position at Cornell University for 4 years. The major part of his professional career has been at MIT, first at the MIT Lincoln Laboratory and later at The Francis Bitter National Magnet Laboratory. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Gene passed away on September 29th, 2021.

Selection Committee:

Anushya Chandran (Boston U), Piers Coleman (Rutgers U), Art Hebard (U. Florida), Moty Heiblum (Weizmann Institute), Andrea Liu(U. Penn), Eugene Mele (U. Penn), Frank Steglich (MPI, Dresden) and Clare Yu (UC Irvine)