Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Prof. Dr. Stuart Parkin
Max Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics, Halle (Saale), Germany


"For major discoveries in spintronics leading to a revolution in data storage and memory."


Stuart Parkin received his B.A. in Physics and Theoretical Physics in 1977 and his Ph.D. in 1980 from the University of Cambridge, UK. His research interests include spintronic materials and devices for advanced sensor, memory, and logic applications, oxide thin-film heterostructures, topological metals, exotic superconductors, and cognitive devices. Parkin is an elected Fellow or Member: Royal Society (London), Royal Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, German National Academy of Science - Leopoldina, Royal Society of Edinburgh, Indian Academy of Sciences, and TWAS - academy of sciences for the developing world. Parkin’s awards include the American Physical Society International Prize for New Materials (1994); Europhysics Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Physics (1997); 2009 IUPAP Magnetism Prize and Neel Medal; 2012 von Hippel Award - Materials Research Society; 2013 Swan Medal - Institute of Physics (London); Alexander von Humboldt Professorship − International Award for Research (2014); Millennium Technology Award (2014); ERC Advanced Grant -SORBET (2015); King Faisal Prize for Science 2021; ERC Advanced Grant – SUPERMINT (2022). Parkin has received 4 honorary doctorates. Parkin has published >677 papers, has >125 issued patents, and has given >830 invited talks around the world. Parkin was named a “Highly Cited Researcher” by Clarivate for the years 2018-2022 and has an h-index of 130.