Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding interdisciplinary research in chemistry and physics, in the spirit of Irving Langmuir. This biennial prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. In even-numbered years, the American Chemical Society selects the prize recipient and presents the prize. In odd-numbered years, the American Physical Society selects the prize recipient and presents the prize. An allowance is provided for travel expenses of the recipient to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is to be bestowed.

Establishment & Support

The prize was established in 1964 by the GE Foundation as a memorial to and in recognition of the accomplishments of Irving Langmuir. During his career at GE from 1909 to 1950, Langmuir received the 1932 Nobel Prize in Chemistry "for his discoveries and investigations in surface chemistry". In 2006, GE Global Research assumed sponsorship of the prize.

Rules & Eligibility

This prize is made to one person who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of chemical physics or physical chemistry within the ten years prior to the prize. The prize is granted without restriction. Nominations are active for three years (two nomination cycles).

Nomination & Selection Process


Nomination Deadline: TBD

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

There may be additional requirements for particular prizes and awards. Please read the rules carefully.

2019 Selection Committee Members: Janice Reutt-Robey (Chair), Mary Jane Schultz (Vice-Chair), Gilbert Nathanson, Emily Carter

Nomination Guidelines

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.