Landau-Spitzer Award

The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the United States of America by joint research or research that advances knowledge which benefits the two communities in a unique way. The award may be given to a team or collaboration of up to four persons affiliated with either European or United States institutions. The Award consists of a $4000 honorarium, a certificate citing the contribution, and a registration fee waiver to attend the meeting at which the award is to be presented. The person or team receiving the award will be offered an invited talk at the forthcoming annual conference of APS-DPP (usually early November) or EPS-DPP (usually end of June, or first week of July), depending on the affiliation of the recipient(s).

Establishment & Support

The American Physical Society (APS) and the European Physical Society (EPS), through their respective Plasma Physics Divisions, will each contribute $2000 per prize. 

Rules & Eligibility

Self-nominations are not accepted. Members of the APS Division of Plasma Physics Executive Committee or members of the EPS Plasma Physics Division Board are not eligible. 

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, January 31, 2022

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee Members: Emilia Solano, EPS (Chair); Bill Heidbrink, APS (Vice Chair); Tony Bell, EPS; Li-Jen Chen, APS ; Carlos A. Romero Talamás, APS; Vladimir Tikhonchuk, EPS

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2020 Recipients

Riccardo Betti, University of Rochester

Alexis Casner, University of Bordeaux-CNRS-CEA

Xavier Ribeyre, University of Bordeaux-CNRS-CEA

Wolfgang Theobald, University of Rochester

2018 Recipients

Yevgen Kazakov, Laboratory for Plasma Physics of the Royal Military Academy (LPP-ERM/KMS), Brussels, Belgium

Jozef Ongena, Laboratory for Plasma Physics of the Royal Military Academy (LPP-ERM/KMS), Brussels, Belgium

John C. Wright, MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center, USA

Stephen J. Wukitch, MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center, USA

Past Recipients

2016: John W. Berkery
          Yueqiang Liu
          Holger Reimerdes
          Steven Anthony Sabbagh

2014: Manuel Garcia-Munoz
          Benedikt Geiger
          David Pace
          Michael Van Zeeland

2012: Sergei Anisimov