Dissertation Award in Hadronic Physics

This award recognizes outstanding young scientists who have performed original research in the area of hadronic physics.

The APS Topical Group on Hadronic Physics presents the award biennially, consisting of $1,500, a certificate, up to $1,500 in travel reimbursement, and a registration waiver to receive the award and give an invited talk at the biennial meeting of the Topical Group on Hadronic Physics.

Establishment & Support

This award was established in 2011 with support from Jefferson Science Associates, LLC (the management contractor for Jefferson Lab), Brookhaven National Laboratory, Universities Research Association (the management contractor for Fermi National Accelerator Lab), and the members and friends of the Topical Group on Hadronic Physics.

Rules & Eligibility

In order to be eligible candidates must have received a Ph.D. in experimental or theoretical hadronic physics. The Ph.D. degree must have been awarded within a two-year period ending the day before nominations are due. Candidates receiving a dissertation award from other APS units are ineligible for the Dissertation Award in Hadronic Physics.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, September 7, 2020

Nominations must include:

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date);

  2. The name and address of the candidate;

  3. A statement of the candidate's contribution to the research;

  4. A letter of support from the candidate's Ph.D. dissertation advisor;

  5. Two additional letters of support from physicists familiar with the candidate and the research;

  6. A copy of the candidate's dissertation.

  7. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee)


The nominations will be evaluated based on: the quality of the written dissertation, the contribution of the student to the research, the impact of the work, and the broader involvement of the student in the community.

To submit a nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee Members: Garth Huber (Chair), Alexei Bazavov, Carl Carlson, Nilanga Liyanage, Julia Velkovska     

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2019 Recipient

Jacob J. Ethier
Nikhef, Vrije Universiteit

Jacob Ethier

Past Recipients

2017: Phiala E. Shanahan
2015: Daniel Pitonyak
2013: Jin Huang