Stuart Jay Freedman Award in Experimental Nuclear Physics

This award is presented annually to an outstanding early career experimentalist in nuclear physics. The award will consist of an award stipend, a certificate, a registration waiver, and an allowance for travel to the Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) to give an invited prize talk and receive the award. A $4,000 stipend will be given in 2019 thanks to the donors of the Freedman Award Endowment.

About Stuart J. Freedman

Stuart J. Freedman was a distinguished experimental nuclear physicist, member of the National Academy of Sciences, and recipient of the Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics, and had a singular role in educating and mentoring graduate students and post-docs.

Stuart inspired students and post-docs in experimental nuclear physics through his accomplishments, his approach to science, and his commitment to the scientific development of those whom he mentored. A detailed account of his achievements can be found at the In Memoriam: Stuart Freedman, Renowned Nuclear Physicist page. Highlights include the first test of Bell’s inequality, carried out with John Clauser, demonstrating consistency with the predictions of quantum mechanics while ruling out those of hidden variable theories.

Establishment & Support

The American Physical Society’s Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) is pleased to establish an award recognizing Dr. Freedman’s legacy as a mentor to early career physicists. You may still contribute to the endowment campaign that will allow the APS to present the award in perpetuity.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations would be open to experimental nuclear physicists who are within seven years of their Ph.D. (at the time of the submission deadline for the nomination, excluding career interruptions). The prize shall normally be awarded to one person. Nominations would be active for two award cycles.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, March 29, 2019

The nomination package must include:

  • a letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s),
  • a CV or biographical sketch,
  • a list of the most important publications,
  • at least two, but not more than four, seconding letters,
  • and up to five reprints or preprints.

Please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines for more information. 


2019 Selection Committee Members: Artemis Spyrou (Chair), Hamish Robertson (Vice-Chair), Ania Kwiatkowski ('18 Recipient), Baha Balantekin, Ernst P. Sichtermann

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2019 Recipient

Or Hen
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Or Hen

Past Recipients

2018: Ania Kwiatkowski