Einstein Prize

This prize recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the field of gravitational physics. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions of the recipient. It also includes an allowance for the recipient to travel to a meeting of the Society to receive the award and deliver a lecture. It is awarded biennially in odd-numbered years.

Establishment & Support

The prize was established by the Topical Group on Gravitation (now Division of Gravitational Physics) in 1999. It is supported by friends of the Division, including major support from David Lee.

Rules & Eligibility

The award, usually to a single individual, is for outstanding achievement in theory, experiment or observation in the area of gravitational physics. It is open to any scientist, worldwide. Nominations will remain active for three review cycles. Members of the Division of Gravitational Physics Executive Committee shall not be eligible for nomination while sitting on the Committee.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Wednesday, June 1, 2022

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee Members: Robert Wald (Chair), Abhay Ashtekar ('19 Recipient), Manuela Campanelli, Frans Pretorius, Jennie Traschen


The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2021 Recipients

Clifford Martin Will
University of Florida

Saul Teukolsky
Cornell and Caltech

Past Recipients

2019: Abhay Ashtekar
2017: Robert M. Wald
2015: Jacob Bekenstein
2013: Irwin I. Shapiro
2011: Ezra Ted Newman
2009: James Hartle
2007: Rainer Weiss
          Ronald Drever
2005: Bryce DeWitt
2003: John A. Wheeler
          Peter G. Bergmann