APS Fellow Archive

The APS Fellow Archive is a historical record of APS Fellows, from 1921 to the present. Please note, some records are missing or incomplete. The details contained in the archive are intended to document an individual's institutional affiliation at the time of their election to Fellowship, and is not updated to reflect current information. For a current listing of an APS Fellow who is still an active member, or to search your institution for current APS Fellows, please use the APS Member Directory. For questions about the Fellow Archive or to inquire about a missing record, please contact APS Honors Staff at fellowship@aps.org.

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Filter by Year:
Filter by Nominating Unit:
Filter by Institution:

Yann R. Chemla [2020]
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Citation: For advancing optical tweezers toward angstrom resolution and integration with single molecule fluorescence and applying them to reveal physical principles of fundamental biological systems such as DNA dynamics, DNA packaging motor proteins, DNA unzipping proteins, and bacterial chemotaxis.
Nominated by: DBIO

Ajay Gopinathan [2020]
University of California, Merced
Citation: For important contributions to our understanding of how the structure, dynamics, and interactions of biopolymers and their assemblies lead to function in the context of intracellular transport and cell shape.
Nominated by: DBIO

Suliana Manley [2020]
Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
Citation: For breakthroughs revealing organizing principles in dynamics of organelles and multiprotein assemblies, through pioneering the development of high-precision, high-throughput, super-resolution microscopies.
Nominated by: DBIO

Ruth Nussinov [2020]
Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research
Citation: For extraordinary advancements in the understanding of the structure and function of biomacromolecules, an algorithm for predicting RNA secondary structure, and the Conformational Selection and Population Shift concept as an alternative to the Induced-Fit model in molecular recognition.
Nominated by: DBIO

Raghuveer Parthasarathy [2020]
University of Oregon
Citation: For creative and innovative contributions to biological physics especially to our understanding of the gut microbiome and lipid bilayers.
Nominated by: DBIO

Kandice Tanner PhD [2020]
National Cancer Institute
Citation: For seminal contributions to the physics of cancer, with fluorescence and single molecule methods in 3D tissue culture and live animal imaging.
Nominated by: DBIO