Panel on Public Affairs

The Panel on Public Affairs (POPA) consists of a Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, immediate Past Chair, the Vice President, the Chair of the Physics Policy Committee (PPC), the Congressional Fellow(s) in the second year following the year of service, fourteen (14) members elected by Council to staggered three (3) year terms, and (1) member elected by the Forum on Physics and Society to a three (3) year term. The candidates for election as members of POPA are selected by the Nominating Committee. The Vice Chair is elected by Council and serves in that office for one (1) year, then as Chair-Elect for one (1) year, then as Chair for one (1) year, and then as Immediate Past Chair for one (1) year. A POPA Steering Committee consisting of the Chair, the Chair-Elect, the Vice Chair, the Vice President, the PPC Chair, and at least two (2) additional members selected from among and by the members of POPA.

POPA is responsible for making recommendations to the President, the Board, and the Council on public affairs activities of the Society that have been designated by the Board or Council. POPA may initiate new public affairs activities for the Society and may recommend new programs to the Council. POPA shall keep minutes and distribute them to POPA members and to the Council and Board.

The Board may create, and the Board and the Council shall have joint oversight over, committees having responsibilities relating to both the general operations of the Society and scientific matters. Such committees may include a Physics Policy Committee, a Panel on Public Affairs, and a Committee on Scientific Publications. The makeup and responsibilities of such committees shall be set forth in the Policies and Procedures established by the Board.

Chair: Prof Michael Marder (01/18 - 12/18)
University of Texas at Austin

Chair-Elect: James Daniel Wells (01/18 - 12/18)
University of Michigan

Vice Chair: E Dan Dahlberg (01/18 - 12/18)
University of Minnesota

Past Chair: Frances Anne Houle (01/18 - 12/18)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Vice President: Philip Howard Bucksbaum (01/18 - 12/18)
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Member: Eli Yablonovitch (01/16 - 12/18)
University of California, Berkeley

Member, FIAP Rep: James Michael Adams (01/18 - 12/20)
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Member: Susan K Blessing (01/18 - 12/20)
Florida State University

Member: R Michael Barnett (01/16 - 12/18)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Member: Brian L DeMarco (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Member: David J Ernst (01/18 - 12/20)
Vanderbilt University

Member: Carlos Jesus Gutierrez (01/18 - 12/20)
Sandia National Laboratories

Member: Carlos Henrique De Brito Cruz (01/18 - 12/19)
Universidade Estadual de Campinas

Member: Marta Dark McNeese (01/17 - 12/19)
Spelman College

Member: Dr William Collins (01/17 - 12/19)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Member: Prof Vicki Helene Grassian (01/16 - 12/18)
University of California, San Diego

Member: Dr Joseph M Jasinski (08/17 - 12/19)
IBM Research

Member: Michael Alan Tamor (01/17 - 12/19)

Member, FPS Rep.: Philip L Taylor (01/16 - 12/18)
Case Western Reserve University

Member: M Pottenger Hockaday (01/18 - 12/20)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member, Chair of PPC: Laura H Greene (01/18 - 12/18)
Florida State University

Member, Congressional Fellow: Karla A Hagan (01/18 - 12/18)
Northern Virginia Community College (Annandale Campus)

Advisor: Roger Wirth Falcone (01/17 - 12/18)
University of California, Berkeley

Advisor: David Gross (01/18 - 12/19)
University of California, Santa Barbara

POPA Links

Annual Updates

APS Annual Reports contain yearly updates on public affairs.
Gray arrow  APS Annual Reports

APS Staff

Staff Advisor
Francis Slakey

Committee Administrator
Jeanette Russo

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members