Committee on Fellowship

The membership of the Committee on Fellowship consists of the Vice President and three (3) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The APS Vice President serves as Chair. The Committee solicits nominations, reviews the recommendations of the Division, Topical Group, and Forum Fellowship Committees, and reviews the qualifications of all candidates for election to Fellowship. It also considers appeals of rejection of candidates for advancement to Fellowship. The APS Fellowship Committee reviews and approves the recommended nominees submitted by the Unit Fellowship Committees, and submits them to the APS Council of Representatives for election.

Candidates for Fellowship must have been a member in good standing on January 1 of the year preceding their nomination. The number of recommended nominees in each year may not exceed one-half percent of the then current membership of the Society, excluding student members.

Chair: Sylvester James Gates (01/19 - 12/19)
Brown University

Member: Andrea Jo-Wei Liu (01/19 - 12/21)
University of Pennsylvania

Member: Harry B Radousky (01/18 - 12/20)
Lawrence Livermore Natl Lab

Member: Michael E Flatté (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Iowa

Senior Staff
Cortney Bougher, APS

Staff Administrator
Jacob Robertson, APS

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members