Committee on the Status of Women in Physics

The membership of the Committee on the Status of Women in Physics typically consists of nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the members. This Committee addresses the production, retention, and career development of women physicists and gathers and maintains data on women in physics in support of these objectives. It may recommend and supervise studies and programs relevant to this charge. It reports annually to Council.

The Committee on the Status of Women in Physics (CSWP) was founded in 1972 to address the encouragement and career development of women physicists. The Committee consists of nine volunteer members appointed by the President of the APS. Throughout its history, CSWP has been an active sponsor of studies, programs and publications to foster women in physics. Details on current programs can be found in the Women in Physics. Annual reports on past activities are linked below.

Chair: Angela Hight Walker (01/23 - 12/23)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Past Chair: Heather Lewandowski (01/23 - 12/23)
University of Colorado, Boulder

Member: Mu-Chun Chen (01/21 - 12/23)
University of California, Irvine

Member: Evangeline Downie (01/20 - 12/23)
George Washington University

Member: Yingmei Liu (01/21 - 12/23)
Oklahoma State University-Stillwater

Member: Simonetta Liuti (01/21 - 12/23)
University of Virginia

Member: Leo Hollberg (01/22 - 12/24)
Stanford University

Member: Idaykis Rodriguez (01/22 - 12/24)
Florida International University

Member: Vidushi Adlakha (01/22 - 12/24)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Member: Edmund Bertschinger (01/23 - 12/25)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Member: Jessica Eskew (01/23 - 12/25)
Auburn University

Member: Laura McCullough (01/23 - 01/26)
University of Wisconsin - Stout

Member: Rana Ashkar (01/23 - 01/26)
Virginia Tech

CSWP 2023 group photo

APS Women in Physics Programs

Gazette Newsletter

Committee Documents Format - PDF

Annual Reports Format - PDF
20192018, 20172016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1998

Past Chairs
1990 - 2020

Staff Advisor
Monica Plisch

Committee Administrator
Della Richardson

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members