Committee on Scientific Publications

Committee on Scientific Publications: The Committee on Scientific Publications consists of the Editor in Chief, the CEO, the Publisher (who are ex officio, non-voting members) and eight (8) voting members nominated by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered four (4) year terms. The President-Elect appoints a Chair from among these eight (8) members. The President-Elect shall also appoint one member of the Board of Directors to serve a three (3) year term as a voting member of the Committee. The Committee shall benefit from the expertise of two (2) nonvoting Librarian Consultants appointed by the Publisher to equally staggered four (4) year terms. The Committee meets at least two (2) times each year and makes recommendations to the Board and Council regarding the operating philosophy and general editorial policy of the scientific publications of the Society.

Chair: Aashish Clerk (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Chicago

Member: Vivien Zapf (01/19 - 12/22)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Spencer Klein (01/18 - 12/19)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Member: Mette B. Gaarde (01/19 - 12/22)
Louisiana State University

Member: Mitchell L. R. Walker (01/18 - 12/21)
Georgia Institute of Technology

Member: Dr Richard J Furnstahl (01/16 - 12/19)
Ohio State University

Member: Kirill Belashchenko (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Member: Ania Jayich (01/18 - 12/21)
University of California, Santa Barbara


Librarian Consultants:

Rick Anderson (01/17 - 12/20)
University of Utah

Lisa Hinchliffe (01/19 - 12/22)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Ex-Officio Members:

Chief Executive Officer
Kate Kirby
kirby@aps.org

Publisher
Matthew Salter
salter@aps.org

Editor in Chief
Michael Thoennessen
thoennessen@aps.org

Staff Advisors:

Chief Information Officer
Mark Doyle
doyle@aps.org

Director of Operations
Christine Giaccone
chrisg@aps.org

Editorial Director
Dan Kulp
dan@aps.org

Associate Publisher
Jeff Lewandowski
lewandowski@aps.org

Committee Administrator:

Senior Administrative Assistant to the Editor in Chief
Eunice Toro
eunice@aps.org

 

Annual Reports
2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing


Information for Committee Members