Committee on Prizes & Awards

The membership of the Committee on Prizes and Awards consists of six (6) Councilors, selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms, which may include one year of service beyond their term as Councilor. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among these six members. The Committee reviews all proposals for new prizes and awards and makes recommendations to the Council. It reviews all existing Society prizes and awards at least once every five years to insure they are properly funded and that the subject area of each prize and award remains relevant. The Committee also ensures that prize and award selection committee members represent the broadest possible context of the prize or award subject area and considers any other administrative issues related to prizes and awards.

Chair: Nicholas P Bigelow (01/18 - 12/19)
University of Rochester

Member: Ahmadou Wague (01/18 - 12/20)
Cheikh Anta Diop University

Member: Philip Michael Tuts (01/16 - 12/18)
Nevis Laboratories

Member: Pushpalatha C Bhat (01/18 - 12/20)

Member: Andrea Jo-Wei Liu (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Pennsylvania

Member: Gail C McLaughlin (01/16 - 12/18)
North Carolina State University

Member: Beverly Kobre Berger (01/18 - 12/20)

APS Prize & Awards Program

Senior Staff
Trish Lettieri, APS

Committee Administrator
Mary Raucci, APS

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members