Committee on Minorities in Physics

The membership of the Committee on Minorities in Physics consists of nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the members. This Committee addresses the production, retention, and career development of minority physicists and gathers and maintains data on minorities in physics in support of these objectives. It may recommend and supervise studies and programs relevant to this charge. It reports annually to the Council.

Chair: Geraldine L Cochran (01/20 - 12/20)
Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Member: Mario F Borunda (01/18 - 12/20)
Oklahoma State University-Stillwater

Member: Mario Claudio Diaz (01/18 - 12/20)
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Member: Clayton E Simien (01/19 - 12/21)
Univ of Alabama - Birmingham

Member: Jose L Mendoza-Cortes (01/19 - 12/21)
Florida State Univ

Member: Donnell Walton (01/19 - 12/21)
Corning Inc

Member: Sowjanya Gollapinni (01/20 - 12/22)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Dr. Gabriela B Gonzalez (01/20 - 12/22)
DePaul University

Member: Dr. Jami Valentine Miller (01/20 - 12/22)
US Patent & Trademark Office

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members