Committee on International Scientific Affairs

The membership of the Committee on International Scientific Affairs (CISA) consists of nine persons. Six (6) members are selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms, while the Chair, Past-Chair and Chair Elect of the Forum on International Physics (FIP) serve as statutory members of CISA. The President-Elect appoints the Chair of CISA from among the members of the Committee. CISA monitors the international science scene and the balance between new APS initiatives and ongoing activities in this arena. Guided by the Purpose of the Society as stated in Article II of the APS Constitution and Bylaws, CISA encourages APS efforts to strengthen interaction among researchers and institutions in different regions of the world and to further extend worldwide access of physicists to scientific information and its exchange. To this end, CISA advises and assists the APS Director of International Scientific Affairs and the Council, and provides documentation and recommendations for action, consulting with other relevant committees as appropriate.

Chair: Carlos Henrique De Brito Cruz (01/18 - 12/19)
Universidade Estadual de Campinas

Member: Sushanta Mitra (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Waterloo

Member: Patricia L McBride (01/19 - 12/21)

Member: James E Gubernatis (01/19 - 12/21)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: E William Colglazier Jr (01/18 - 12/20)
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Member: Xi Dai (01/17 - 12/19)
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Member: Angela Bracco (01/18 - 12/20)

FIP Chair-Elect to CISA: Luisa Cifarelli (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Bologna

FIP Chair to CISA: Elena Aprile (01/19 - 12/19)
Columbia University

FIP Past Chair to Cisa: R J Peterson (01/19 - 12/19)
University of Colorado, Boulder

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members