Committee on Careers & Professional Development

The membership of the Committee on Careers and Professional Development consists of nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the members. The Committee is responsible for coordinating affairs within the Society concerned with career and professional development in physics and advising the Society on courses of action.

Chair: Ben Zhu (01/23 - 12/23)
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Member: Jie Ren (01/21 - 12/23)
Merck & Co.

Member: Marla Dowell (01/20 - 12/23)
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Member: Buddhapriya Chakrabarti (01/21 - 12/23)
University of Sheffield

Member: John Deisz (01/21 - 12/23)
California Lutheran Univ

Member: Diane Markoff (01/22 - 12/24)
North Carolina Central University

Member: Arlene Maclin (01/23 - 12/25)

Member: Felice Hyppolite (01/23 - 12/25)
Loma Linda University

Advisor: Adam Iaizzi (01/21 - 12/23)
Booz Allen & Hamilton

Advisor: Karla Garcia (01/22 - 12/23)
Univ de Salamanca

Advisor: Kathleen Schwarz (01/22 - 12/23)
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Members of CCPD on Zoom call

On screen (L-R): John Deisz, Marla Dowell, Karla Garcia
Back row (L-R): Daniel Pisano, Jie Ren, Lesley-Ann Rennie, Axel Schmidt, Midhat Farooq, Adam Iaizzi, Ben Zhu
Front row (L-R): Diane Markoff, Crystal Bailey, Kathleen Schwarz, Farah Dawood

CCPD Links

Annual Reports
2016, 20152014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2006, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998

APS Staff

Committee Administrator
Crystal Bailey, APS

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members