Governance Committee

The Board shall create a Governance Committee, consisting of such persons as the Board may specify. The Governance Committee shall be responsible for reviewing periodically the effectiveness of governance structures and processes, including the Articles of Incorporation and Constitution and Bylaws of the Society and the Policies and Procedures of the Society, and for making recommendations to the Board and the Council of any appropriate changes.

The Governance Committee consists of the Immediate Past President, six (6) members appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three (3) year terms, plus the CEO and Secretary (both ex-officio, non-voting). One of the members of the Governance Committee appointed each year is a member of the Board elected from the Council. The Governance Committee is chaired by the Immediate Past President, or in the case of a vacancy in that office, the chair will be selected by the Governance Committee members. The Governance Committee performs an annual review of the governance of the society, and every five years it performs an extensive review to ensure that Society governance documents are consistent with practice and are working well. The committee will evaluate the leadership development needs of the Society and ensure attention in this area. The committee is responsible for reviewing and proposing amendments to the Society's C&BL, revisions to the Policies and Procedures, and reporting on any governance matters concerning the C&BL of the Society and the governance rules of its Divisions, Topical Groups, Forums, and Sections (i.e., the Unit Bylaws) to the Board and/or Council for approval as described in Articles XIII and XIV.

Chair: Laura H Greene (01/18 - 12/18)
Florida State Univ

Member: Nicholas P Bigelow (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of Rochester

Member: John Rumble (01/17 - 12/19)
R&R Data Services

Member: Nan Phinney (01/17 - 12/19)
SLAC - Natl Accelerator Lab

Member: Donald Prosnitz (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of California - Berkeley

Member: Robert P Redwine (01/18 - 12/20)
Massachusetts Inst of Tech-MIT

Member: Beverly Kobre Berger (01/18 - 12/20)

Member: Gregory Paul Meisner (01/16 - 12/18)
GM Rsch & Dev Ctr

Senior Staff
Kate Kirby, APS

Committee Advisor
Ken Cole