Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics

This prize recognizes outstanding publications in the field of mathematical physics. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient plus travel expenses to attend the meeting at which the prize is bestowed. It will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This prize was established in 1959 by the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes, Inc., and is administered jointly by the American Physical Society and the American Institute of Physics. Biographical information on Dannie Heineman.

Rules & Eligibility

This prize is awarded solely for valuable published contributions made in the field of mathematical physics with no restrictions placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residence. "Publication" is defined as either a single paper, a series of papers, a book, or any other communication which can be considered a publication. The prize may be awarded to more than one person on a shared basis when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Thursday, June 1, 2023

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2024 Selection Committee Members: Cumrun Vafa (Chair), Thomas Spencer (Vice Chair), Hirosi Ooguri, Nikita Nekrasov, Simone Warzel

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2023 Recipient

Nikita Nekrasov
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics and Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics at Stony Brook University

Past Recipients

2022: Antti Kupiainen
          Krzysztof Gawędzki
2021: Joel L. Lebowitz
2020: Svetlana Jitomirskaya
2019: Bill Sutherland
          Francesco Calogero
          Michel Gaudin
2018: Barry Simon
2017: Carl M. Bender
2016: Andrew E. Strominger
          Cumrun Vafa
2015: Pierre Ramond
2014: Gregory W. Moore
2013: Michio Jimbo
          Tetsuji Miwa
2012: Giovanni Jona-Lasinio
2011: Herbert Spohn
2010: Michael Aizenman
2009: Alain Rouet
          Carlo Becchi
          Igor Tyutin
          Raymond Stora
2008: Mitchell Feigenbaum
2007: Joseph Polchinski
          Juan Maldacena
2006: Daniel Freedman
          Peter van Nieuwenhuizen
          Sergio Ferrara
2005: Giorgio Parisi
2004: Gabriele Veneziano
2003: James W. York
          Yvonne Choquet-Bruhat
2002: John H. Schwarz
          Michael B. Green
2001: Vladimir Igorevich Arnol'd
2000: Sidney R. Coleman
1999: Alexander B. Zamolodchikov
          Barry M. McCoy
          Tai Tsun Wu
1998: Edward Witten
          Nathan Seiberg
1997: Harry W. Lehmann
1996: Roy J. Glauber
1995: Roman W. Jackiw
1994: Charles W. Misner
          Richard L. Arnowitt
          Stanley Deser
1993: Martin C. Gutzwiller
1992: Stanley Mandelstam
1991: Jürg Fröhlich
          Thomas C. Spencer
1990: Yakov Sinai
1989: John S. Bell
1988: Bruno Zumino
          Julius Wess
1987: Rodney Baxter
1986: A.M. Polyakov
1985: D.P. Ruelle
1984: R.B. Griffiths
1983: M.D. Kruskal
1982: J.C. Ward
1981: Jeffrey Goldstone
1980: Arthur Michael Jaffe
          James Gilbert Glimm
1979: Gerard T. Hooft
1978: Elliott H. Lieb
1977: Steven Weinberg
1976: Stephen William Hawking
1975: Ludwig Dmitriyevich Faddeev
1974: Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar
1973: Kenneth G. Wilson
1972: James D. Bjorken
1971: Roger Penrose
1970: Yoichiro Nambu
1969: Arthur Strong Wightman
1968: Sergio Fubini
1967: Gian Carlo Wick
1966: N.N. Bogolubov
1965: Freeman J. Dyson
1964: Tullio Regge
1963: Keith A. Brueckner
1962: Leon Van Hove
1961: Marvin L. Goldberger
1960: Aage Bohr
1959: Murray Gell-Mann