James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials

To recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in the science and application of new materials. This shall include the discovery of new classes of materials, the observation of novel phenomena in known materials leading to both fundamentally new applications and scientific insights, and shall also include theoretical and experimental work contributing significantly to the understanding of such phenomena. The prize consists of $10,000 plus a certificate citing the contribution of the recipient and an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the award is presented. It is awarded annually.

Establishment & Support

The prize was established in 1997 and is endowed by IBM and the APS Division of Materials Physics.

Rules & Eligibility

The prize is open to scientists of all nationalities irrespective of where their work has been carried out. Nominations are active for 3 years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Tuesday, June 1, 2021

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee Members: David Awschalom (Chair), Mikhail Eremets ('20 Recipient), Vidya Madhavan, Ni Ni, Peter Schiffer

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2021 Recipients

Darrell G. Schlom
Cornell University

Ivan Božović
Brookhaven National Laboratory

James N. Eckstein
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Past Recipients

2020: Mikhail Ivanovich Eremets
2019: Bogdan Andrei Bernevig
          Claudia Felser
          Xi Dai
2018: Rodney S. Ruoff
2017: Paul C. Canfield
2016: Mercouri G. Kanatzidis
2015: Hideo Hosono
2014: Zhong Lin Wang
2013: Costas M. Soukoulis
          David R. Smith
          John B. Pendry
2012: Robert Cava
2011: Arthur P. Ramirez
2010: Nicola A. Spaldin
          Ramamoorthy Ramesh
          Sang-Wook Cheong
2009: Akihisa Inoue
          William L. Johnson
2008: Arthur F. Hebard
          Jun Akimitsu
          Robert C. Haddon
2007: Arthur J. Epstein
          Joel S. Miller
2006: Alex Zettl
          Hongjie Dai
2005: Yoshinori Tokura
2004: Loren Pfeiffer
2003: Charles M. Lieber
2002: Donald S. Bethune
          Sumio Iijima
2001: Arthur Charles Gossard
2000: M. Brian Maple
1999: Eugene E. Haller
          Thomas Richard Anthony
1994: Peter Grünberg, Albert Fert, Stuart Parkin
1993: Gordon C. Osbourn
1992: Robert E. Curl, Harold W. Kroto and Richard E. Smalley
1991: Francis J. DiSalvo, Jr., Frederic Holtzberg
1990: James L. Smith, Hans R. Ott, Frank Steglich and Zachary Fisk
1989: J.B. MacChesney, R.D. Maurer and K.C. Kao
1988: J. Georg Bednorz, C. (Paul) Chu and K. Alex Muller
1987: Dan Schechtman
1986: John Croat, Jan Herbst, Norman C. Koon and Masato Sagawa
1985: Leroy L. Chang, Leo Esaki and Raphael Tsu
1984: J.P. Remeika
1983: David Turnbull
1982: John R. Arthur, Jr., Alfred Y. Cho
1981: LeGrand G. van Uitert
1980: Pol E. Duwez and William Klement, William Klement, Jr
1979: J. Eugene Kunzler, Bernd T. Matthias and John K. Hulm
1978: J.H. Sinfelt
1977: Francis Bundy, H. Tracy Hall, Herbert Strong and Robert H. Wentoff, Jr
1976: William G. Pfann, Henry C. Theurer
1975: Heinrich Welker