APS News

Beverley McKeon and Eric Lauga Selected as Lead Editors for Physical Review Fluids

January 28, 2020

APS has appointed Beverley McKeon (California Institute of Technology) and Eric Lauga (University of Cambridge) as Lead Editors for the Physical Review Fluids as of February 1, 2021. They take the helm following the journal's founding Editors John Kim and Gary Leal.

"I am excited that Beverley McKeon and Eric Lauga accepted our offer to serve as the new Lead Editors for Physical Review Fluids," said APS Editor in Chief Michael Thoennessen. "They are currently Associate Editors for the journal, so they are intimately familiar with the community. As Lead Editors Beverley and Eric follow John Kim and Gary Leal who were instrumental in launching Physical Review Fluids five years ago. I would like to thank John and Gary for their outstanding service, and I am sure the journal has an excellent future with Beverley and Eric."

McKeon, an APS Fellow, is Theodore von Karman Professor of Aeronautics at the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories and the Deputy Chair of the Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Caltech. She earned her PhD from Princeton University in 2003 where she carried out research in high Reynolds number turbulent pipe flow, and additionally has master's degrees from Princeton and the University of Cambridge, where she earned her BA with honors. She is the Chair, and APS representative, of the US National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, the past editor-in-chief of Experimental Thermal and Fluid Science, and an outgoing member of the editorial boards of the AIAA Journal and Experiments in Fluids.

Beverly McKeon

Beverley McKeon

Eric Lauga

Eric Lauga

Lauga is Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Cambridge and an APS Fellow. He earned his PhD in applied mathematics from Harvard University in 2005 following a master's degree from the University of Paris VI Pierre et Marie Curie, the Diplome Corps des Mines from École des Mines de Paris, and the Diplome d’Ingénieur from École Polytechnique. Among his honors, Lauga is the recipient of the APS Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award (2006), the François Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics (2015), and the APS Early Career Award for Soft Matter Research (2018). He is a past editor of Physics of Fluids, European Physical Journal E, and the Journal of Fluids and Structures.

"We are thrilled and proud to have the opportunity to lead Physical Review Fluids as the second Editors of the journal," said McKeon and Lauga in a joint statement. "John Kim and Gary Leal have provided exceptional leadership to the community over many years and we aspire to maintain their high standards of academic rigor and integrity. We look forward to building on the journal’s deep roots and special connection with the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics while expanding our global reach. The international fluid mechanics community is healthy and innovative. We are excited to work together to make Physical Review Fluids the best possible forum to publish work that leads the field in established areas and cultivates exciting new research directions."

News Update Archive

View Archive

APS News

Read Current Issue

Recent News Update
Spring 2022 APS Prizes and Awards Recipients
APS has announced the Society’s Spring 2022 prize and award recipients.
Next-Generation Fellowship Supports Diverse Voices within Nuclear Weapons Policy Field
Applications for a new cohort of Next-Generation Fellows closes November 30, 2021.
2021 Nobel Prize in Physics Awarded for Research in Complex Systems
The Royal Swedish Academy has announced the recipients of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics.
Physical Review Journals Announce Inclusive Name-Change Policy
New initiative allows authors to change their previously published names for any reason.
Past APS President Laura Greene Appointed to President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology
The Biden-Harris Administration today announced the appointment of Laura Greene, Chief Scientist at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and the MarieKrafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University, to the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST).
APS Celebrates Undergraduate Research with the LeRoy Apker Award Finalists
Seven undergraduates showcased their physics research at the annual Apker selection meeting.