Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

I-yang Lee
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory


"For seminal contributions to the field of nuclear structure through the development of advanced gamma-ray detectors as realized in the Gammasphere device, and for pioneering work on gamma-ray energy tracking detectors demonstrated by the Gamma-ray Energy Tracking Array (GRETINA)."


I-Yang Lee received his B.S. in physics from National Taiwan University in 1968 and his PhD from University of Pittsburgh in 1974. He then worked as a post-doc at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory studying nuclear high-spin properties. He moved to Oak Ridge National laboratory in 1977, and worked on various programs on nuclear structure, relativistic heavy ion collisions, detector development, and accelerator research. In 1992 he joined the staff of Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory and participated in the construction of Gammasphere. He also developed the novel concept of gamma-ray energy tracking detector which uses highly segment Ge detector to provide position resolution for each gamma ray interaction. A partial array, Gamma-ray Energy Tracking Array (GRETINA), was completed in 2011. Lee is a Fellow of the APS, has served on the DNP Executive Committee, and as a Divisional Associate Editor of Physical Review Letters.

Selection Committee:

Calvin R. Howell (Chair), Steven R. Elliott, Howard Wieman, Rocco Schiavilla, Kate Jones

Miniaturized Biosensors for Healthcare