Committee on Committees

The Committee on Committees is a Council committee, which is responsible for oversight of all Council committees including joint committees of Council and Board. The membership of the Committee on Committees consists of nine (9) Councilors elected by Council to staggered three-year terms, and the Chair of the Nominating Committee. The President-Elect appoints the Vice-Chair from among these nine members, who serves as Chair in the subsequent year of service. Nominees for membership on the Committee on Committees include all Councilors in their second year of service. Members serve for three years, which may include one year beyond their terms as Councilors. This committee looks to the functioning of Council committees and to policies pertaining thereto and makes recommendations thereon to the Council. It has the responsibility for nominating elected members of the standing committees. It also assists the President-Elect in determining the willingness of candidates to serve. This Committee meets at least once annually. The Committee on Committees submits to the Executive Office the names of candidates for each elected position no less than five weeks before the Elections Meeting of the Council. In general, the number of nominees for each elected position should exceed the number of available positions.

Chair: Philip Michael Tuts (01/17 - 12/18)
Columbia Univ Nevis Lab

Member, Chair of Nominating Committee: David D Meyerhofer (01/18 - 12/18)
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Member: Johanna Barbara Stachel (01/18 - 12/20)
Univ Heidelberg

Member: Nicholas P Bigelow (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Rochester

Member: Cary B Forest (01/17 - 12/19)
Univ of Wisconsin, Madison

Member: John Bradley Marston (01/18 - 12/20)
Brown Univ

Member: Thomas Roser (01/17 - 12/19)
Brookhaven Natl Lab

Member: Nadya Mason (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of Illinois - Urbana

Member: Young-kee Kim (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of Chicago

Member: Julia Gonski (01/18 - 12/20)
Harvard Univ

Chief Executive Officer
Kate Kirby

Corporate Secretary
Ken Cole

Committee Administrator
Leah Bullis