Audit Committee

The Board shall create an Audit Committee consisting of Directors who are not officers of the Society or otherwise directly involved in the business management of the Society (although at the discretion of the Board the Treasurer may serve on the Audit Committee). Following each fiscal year the Audit Committee shall review the audit of the Society's financial statements with the Society's auditors and submit a written report to the Board, which shall include recommendations on fiscal management issues.

The Audit Committee consists of four (4) Board members, who are not members of the Finance Committee. The Audit Committee members are appointed by the President-Elect and serve staggered four (4) year terms that may extend two years beyond their term on the Board. The Treasurer is an ex-officio advisor to the Audit Committee. A member in his or her third year of service on the Audit Committee ordinarily serves as Chair. The Audit Committee will meet two (2) times per year, one (1) of which is a face-to-face meeting, and be responsible for reviewing and selecting the outside auditors every four (4) years. In addition, the Audit Committee will review the Society's Business Continuity Plan and assure that it is up-to-date.

Chair: Pushpalatha C Bhat (01/19 - 12/19)

Member: Andrea Jo-Wei Liu (01/18 - 12/19)
University of Pennsylvania

Member: Akif Baha Balantekin (01/19 - 12/20)
University of Wisconsin - Madison

Past Chair: Gail C McLaughlin (01/19 - 12/19)
North Carolina State University

Treasurer (Non-Voting): James N Hollenhorst (01/19 - 12/21)
Agilent Technologies

Chief Executive Officer
Kate Kirby

Chief Financial Officer
Jane Hopkins Gould

Director of Finance
Michael Stephens

Darryl Campbell

Committee Administrator
Shana Bowman

Annual Reports
2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members