STEP UP 4 Women Project Leadership

STEP UP 4 Women Leadership

STEP UP 4 Women held its first meeting at Florida International University on July 16-18, 2017
Pictured: (back, l-r) Ted Hodapp, Andres Torres, Shannon Stone, Daniel Plas, Kevin Dwyer, John Metzler, Geoff Potvin; (front, l-r) Robynne Lock, Zahra Hazari, Kristin Cotton, Kristin Holz, Catherine Garland, John Burk, Rebecca Vieyra, Raina Khatri, Justine Boecker (AAPT); (not pictured) Laird Kramer, Moses Rifkin, Kathryne Sparks Woodle


Project Management Team


Florida International University

  • Zahra Hazari, Associate Professor in the Department of Teaching & Learning and the STEM Transformation Institute (Principal Investigator)
  • Laird Kramer, Professor in the Department of Physics and Director of the STEM Transformation Institute
  • Geoff Potvin, Associate Professor in the Department of Physics and the STEM Transformation Institute
  • Raina Khatri, Postdoctoral Research Associate in the STEM Transformation Institute

Texas A&M

Texas A&M University-Commerce

  • Robynne Lock, Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy


American Association of Physics Teachers

  • Beth Cunningham, Executive Officer
  • Rebecca Vieyra, K-12 Program Manager

WestEd (External Evaluators)

  • Cindy Caldwell, South Florida Program Coordinator
  • Angela Estacion, Senior Research Associate
  • Joseph L. McCrary, Senior Research Associate


American Physical Society

  • Theodore Hodapp, Director of Project Development and Senior Advisor to the Education and Diversity Department
  • Kathryne Sparks Woodle, Education and Diversity Programs Manager

High School Physics Master Teachers

STEP UP 4 Women Master Teachers

National Advisory Board

  • Eric Brewe, Associate Professor of Physics and Science Education at Drexel University
  • Heidi Carlone, Professor of Science Education at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Eugenia Etkina, Professor in the Department of Learning & Teaching at Rutgers University
  • Catherine Garland, Science and Engineering Teacher and Math for America Early Career Teacher at Uncommon Charter High School
  • Vivian Incera, Professor of Physics, Dean of Science and Technology, CUNY/College of Staten Island
  • Rachel Ivie, Director of the Statistical Research Center (SRC) at the American Institute of Physics
  • Stamatis Vokos, Professor of Physics at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Nos. 1720810, 1720869, 1720917, and 1721021. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.