APS News

APS Launches New Prize and New Award With Nominations Due by July First

This year APS is launching the Herman Feshbach Prize, named for a leading nuclear theorist who enjoyed a long and distinguished career at MIT. The Feshbach Prize in nuclear theory will complement the Tom W. Bonner Prize, given primarily for nuclear experimental physics.

Nominations for the first cycle of the Prize are currently being sought. They can be submitted online at http://www.aps.org/programs/honors/prizes/feshbach.cfm. The nomination deadline is July 1; the first recipient(s) will be determined by the APS Executive Board in September upon recommendation of the selection committee, and the first Prize will be presented at the 2014 April Meeting in Savannah.

Also debuting this year is the Reichert Award for Excellence in Advanced Laboratory Instruction. The addition of this Award to the APS portfolio is designed to recognize outstanding achievement in teaching, sustaining and enhancing an advanced undergraduate laboratory course or courses. The Award was established through the generosity of Jonathan Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert, for whom the development of advanced laboratory instruction has been a longtime passion. More information about the Award, and instructions for submitting nominations, can be found at http://www.aps.org/programs/honors/awards/lab.cfm. The nomination deadline is July 1.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Science Writer: Michael Lucibella