APS News

Murray to Serve on Investigative Panel

Cherry Murray web

Cherry Murray

Former APS president Cherry Murray was picked to be a member of the presidentially appointed National Commission tasked with preventing a BP-like oil spill from happening again. The panel will investigate the events leading up to the spill and make safety and environmental protection recommendations.

Murray, who served as President of APS in 2009, is the dean of Harvard’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Other members of the panel include the president of the Natural Resources Defense Council Frances Beinecke, the president of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science Donald Boesch, executive vice president for Mission Programs for the National Geographic Society Terry Garcia, and chancellor of the University of Alaska Anchorage Frances Ulmer. The commission is chaired by former Florida senator Bob Graham and former head of the Environmental Protection Agency William Reilly.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos