APS News

Mikulski, Walsh receive Public Service Awards

public service award
Photo by David Sims
April 10, the annual Public Service Awards sponsored by the APS together with the American Astronomical Society and the American Mathematical Society, were presented to Senator Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD) and Representative James T. Walsh (R-NY) in a ceremony on Capitol Hill. Senator Mikulski is the Chair of the Appropriations subcommittee with responsibility for NASA and NSF, and Congressman Walsh is Chair of the corresponding subcommittee in the House. Both are champions of increased funding for these agencies and science in general. Shown here are Senator Mikulski (center) and Congressman Walsh (right) with their awards, being congratulated by APS President-elect Myriam Sarachik.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette