Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics

To provide recognition to exceptional young scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of experimental particle physics. The annual award consists of $1,500, a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, and an allowance of up to $1,000 for travel to attend the annual meeting of the Division of Particles and Fields (DPF) at which the award will be presented.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1999 in memory of Dr. Mitsuyoshi Tanaka with funding provided by friends and family.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student studying at a college or university in North America including their study-abroad programs, for dissertation research carried out in the field of experimental particle physics. The work to be considered must have been accomplished as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. First time nominees for the 2017 Award must have passed their thesis defenses between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017.

A candidate may be renominated once for this Award in the year following their original nomination. In this case a new nomination package must be submitted to the Committee, stating that the candidate had been nominated the previous year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, June 30, 2017

This award will be presented at the APS April 2018 Meeting.

The nomination package should include:

  1. A full copy of the nominee's Ph.D. thesis, along with up to four publications and/or reports describing the work.
  2. A thesis summary of no more than two pages prepared by the nominee.
  3. A brief summary of the thesis suitable for distribution as the basis of an article in the popular press.
  4. A complete curriculum vitae of the nominee, including a list of publications.
  5. A nominating letter from the thesis advisor stating (a) the date of the thesis defense and the date the final thesis document was presented to the graduate school, (b) the role of the nominee in writing any parts of the thesis that have been published or submitted for publication (please identify these parts of the thesis), and (c) the specific contributions of the nominee, making comparisons with others.
  6. At least two letters supporting the nomination.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: Kevin Pitts (chair), Janet Conrad (vice-chair) Anna Goussiou, Paolo Priivitera, Darien Wood


Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.