J. J. and Noriko Sakurai Dissertation Award in Theoretical Particle Physics

The Award recognizes exceptional young scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of theoretical particle physics. The annual Award consists of $1,500, a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, and an allowance of up to $1,000 for travel to attend a meeting of the Division of Particles and Fields (DPF) or APS, where the Award will be presented.

Establishment & Support

The Award was established in 2010 by the DPF Executive Committee with funding coming from the J.J. Sakurai Prize Fund, in recognition of the role of Noriko Sakurai in the establishment and growth of the fund.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student studying at a college or university in the United States including their study-abroad programs, for dissertation research carried out in the field of theoretical particle physics. The work to be considered must have been completed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. First time nominees for the 2018 Award must have passed the Ph.D. thesis defense between September 1, 2016 and September 30, 2017.

A candidate may be renominated once for this Award in the year following their original nomination. In this case a new nomination package must be submitted.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, October 1, 2018

The nomination package should include:

  1. A full copy of the nominee's Ph.D. thesis, along with up to four publications and/or reports describing the work.
  2. A thesis summary of no more than two pages prepared by the nominee.
  3. A brief summary of the thesis suitable for distribution as the basis of an article in the popular press.
  4. A complete curriculum vitae of the nominee, including a list of publications.
  5. A letter from the thesis advisor stating (a) the date of the thesis defense and the date the final thesis document was presented to the graduate school, (b) the names of those who will be writing letters supporting the nomination, (c) the role of the nominee in writing any parts of the thesis that have been published or submitted for publication (please identify these parts of the thesis), and (d) the specific contributions of the nominee, making comparisons with others.
  6. At least two letters supporting the nomination.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: Hooman Davoudiasl (chair), Shufang Su (vice-chair), Washington Taylor, Iain Stewart, Graciela Gelmini

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.

2018 Recipient

Grant Newton Remmen
California Institute of Technology

Grant Remmen

Past Recipients

2017: Ian Moult
2016: Yonatan F. Kahn
2015: Mikhail P. Solon
2014: Roberto Vega-Morales
2013: David Sanford
2012: Andre Lessa