Dissertation Award in Nuclear Physics

This award recognizes a recent Ph. D. in Nuclear Physics. The award consists of $2,500 and an allowance for travel to the annual Spring Meeting of the Division of Nuclear Physics of the American Physical Society, at which the award will be presented. The award will be given annually.

Establishment & Support

This award was endowed in 1985 by members and friends of the Division of Nuclear Physics. It was given bi-annually until becoming an annual award with the 1999 selection.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to any person who has received a Ph. D. degree in experimental or theoretical nuclear physics from a North American university within the two-year period preceding 1 July 2017. Nominations should include:

  • The name of the proposed candidate,
  • A statement of her/his contribution to the research as well as that of others,
  • A letter of support from the nominee's Ph.D. thesis advisor,
  • Two additional letters of support from physicists who are familiar with the candidate and the research,
  • A copy of the proposed candidate's thesis.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, June 1, 2018

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: Michael Thoennessen (chair) DNP chair (12/18), G. D. Cates, member, DNP past chair (12/17), Chris Crawford, member (12/17), James Vary, member (12/18), Yury Kolomensky, 2017 recipient's advisor (12/17)

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.

2018 Recipients

Kyle W Brown
Washington University at St. Louis

Matthew Elias Caplan
Indiana University

Past Recipients

2017: Jonathan Loren Ouellet
2016: Chun Shen
2015: Michael P. Mendenhall
2014: Katherine Myers
2013: Gang Shen
2012: Emanuele Mereghetti
          Phillip S. Barbeau
2011: Huichao Song
          Matthew W. Luzum
2010: Calem R. Hoffman
2009: Steven M. Clayton
          Thomas I. Banks
2008: Deepshikha Choudhury
          Nikolai Tolich
2007: Kathryn K.S. Miknaitis
          Magdalena Djordjevic
2006: Li-Bang Wang
2005: Andriy Kurylov
2004: Andrew W. Steiner
2003: Karsten Heeger
2002: Jiunn-Wei Chen
2001: Daniel Bardayan
2000: John Arrington
1999: Eric Hawker
1998: Yury G. Kolomensky
1996: Gregory Joseph Schmid
1994: Zhiping Zhao
1992: James Edward Koster
1990: Michael J. Musolf
1988: Thomas E. Cowan
1986: Brad Sherrill
          W. J. Burger