Dissertation Award in Hadronic Physics

This award recognizes outstanding young scientists who have performed original research in the area of hadronic physics. This award was established by the APS Topical Group on Hadronic Physics . The award consists of $1000 and a travel allowance of up to $1500 to attend the biennial meeting of the Topical Group on Hadronic Physics for the award presentation. The dissertation award will be presented biennially.

Establishment & Support

This award was established in 2011 with support from Jefferson Science Associates, LLC (the management contractor for Jefferson Lab), Brookhaven National Laboratory, Universities Research Association (the management contractor for Fermi National Accelerator Lab), and the members and friends of the Topical Group on Hadronic Physics.

Rules & Eligibility

In order to be eligible candidates must have received a Ph.D. in experimental or theoretical hadronic physics from a college or university in the United States, or, if a Ph.D. student at a non-US institution, must have conducted a significant part of their Ph.D. research within the USA (have resided in the USA for at least one-half of the official duration of their Ph.D. research program) or have been a member of the APS for a period of at least two-thirds of their Ph.D. research program. The Ph.D. degree must have been awarded within a two-year period ending the day before nominations are due. Candidates receiving a dissertation award from other APS units are ineligible for the Dissertation Award in Hadronic Physics.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Nominations must include:

  • The name and address of the candidate;
  • A statement of the candidate's contribution to the research;
  • A letter of support from the candidate's Ph.D. dissertation advisor;
  • Two additional letters of support from physicists familiar with the candidate and the research;
  • A copy of the candidate's dissertation.

The nominations will be evaluated based on: the quality of the written dissertation, the contribution of the student to the research, the impact of the work, and the broader involvement of the student in the community.

Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the 2017 Selection Committee:

Raju Venugopalan

Brookhaven Natl Lab
Physics Department
Upton, NY 11973

Email: raju@bnl.gov

Committee Members: Silas Beane, Volker Crede, Anna Stasto, Xiaochao Zheng

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.

2016 Recipient

Phiala E. Shanahan
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Phiala Shanahan

Past Recipients

2015: Daniel Pitonyak
2013: Jin Huang