Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

To recognize doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in beam physics and engineering. The annual award consists of $2,500 and a certificate to be presented at an awards ceremony at the Division of Physics of Beams Annual Meeting, and an additional allowance of up to $500 for travel to the meeting. The recipient will be invited to present the work as an invited talk in an appropriate session of the meeting.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1990 by the Division of Physics of Beams and is supported by Brookhaven Science Associates, Fermi Research Associates, and Southeastern Universities Research Association/Jefferson Lab.

Rules & Eligibility

A nomination will be accepted for any doctoral student of a university world-wide for work performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must pass their thesis defense not more than 18 months before the nomination deadline. An individual can only be nominated once; however, an unsuccessful candidate will be carried over for 1 year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Saturday, September 16, 2017

The 2018 Award will be presented during the 2018 IPAC’18 conference, April 29 – May 4, 2018 at the JW Marriott parq Vancouver in Vancouver, BC.

Nomination should include;

  • Nominees thesis
  • Biographical Sketch
  • Nominating Letter
  • Additional Letters of Support
  • List of Publications

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: Rui Li (Chair) Rami Kishek (Vice-Chair), Vladimir Litvinenko (Past Chair), Heather Andrews (LANL), Themis Mastoridis (CalPoly), Alexander Valishev (FNAL), Tor Raubenheimer  (2017 awardee supervisor)

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.