Landau-Spitzer Award

The Award will be given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics, and for advancing the collaboration and unity between the European Union (EU) and the United States of America (USA) by joint research, or research that advances knowledge which benefits the EU and USA communities in a unique way. The award may be given to a team or collaboration of up to four persons affiliated with either the EU or USA institutions. The Award consists of a $4000 honorarium, a certificate citing the contribution, and a registration fee waiver to attend the meeting at which the award is to be presented. The person or team receiving the award will be offered an invited talk at the forthcoming annual conference of APS-DPP (usually early November) or EPS-DPP (usually end of June, or first week of July), depending on the affiliation of the recipient(s).

Establishment & Support

The American Physical Society (APS) and the European Physical Society (EPS), through their respective Plasma Physics Divisions, will each contribute $2000 per prize. 

Rules & Eligibility

Self-nominations are not accepted. Members of the APS Division of Plasma Physics Executive Committee or members of the EPS Plasma Physics Division Board are not eligible. 

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Thursday, March 8, 2018

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2018 Selection Committee Members: TBD

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2016 Recipients

Holger Reimerdes
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

John W. Berkery
Columbia University

Steven Anthony Sabbagh
Columbia University

Yueqiang Liu
Culham Centre for Fusion Energy (CCFE)

Past Recipients

2014: Benedikt Geiger
          David Pace
          Manuel Garcia-Munoz
          Michael Van Zeeland
2012: Sergei Anisimov