Physics Policy Committee

The Physics Policy Committee (PPC) consists of the Immediate Past President, who will serve as Chair for a one (1) year term, twelve (12) members, appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three (3) year terms, the President-Elect, the Congressional Fellows(s) in the first year following the year of service, and the Chair of POPA. The PPC addresses those science policy issues that affect the development of physics, the health of the institutions in which physics is practiced, the resources available to physics, and the balanced use of these resources for the nation's scientific and technological needs. PPC shall make recommendations to the President, the Board, and the Council on these science policy issues. Recommendations from the PPC on public statements shall be considered by the POPA Steering Committee and then transmitted to Council as appropriate.

Chair: Dr Homer A Neal (01/17 - 12/17)
Univ of Michigan - Ann Arbor

Member: Norbert R Holtkamp (01/17 - 12/19)
SLAC - Natl Accelerator Lab

Member: Carlos Andres Meriles (01/15 - 12/17)
City College of New York CUNY

Member: Vasudevan Lakshminarayanan (01/17 - 12/19)
Univ of Waterloo

Member: Robert J Birgeneau (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of California - Berkeley

Member: James William Bray (01/16 - 12/18)
General Electric Corp

Member: Patricia M Dehmer (01/17 - 12/19)
Department of Energy

Member: Roger Wirth Falcone (01/17 - 12/17)
Univ of California - Berkeley

Member: Don Q Lamb Jr (01/17 - 12/19)
Univ of Chicago

Member: Berndt Mueller (01/16 - 12/18)
Brookhaven Natl Lab

Member: Ritchie Patterson (01/15 - 12/17)
Cornell Univ

Member: Linda Young (01/16 - 12/18)
Argonne Natl Lab

Deputy Chair: Gerald C Blazey (01/17 - 12/17)
Northern Illinois Univ

Member: E William Colglazier Jr (01/15 - 12/17)

Member, Chair of POPA: Frances Anne Houle (01/17 - 12/17)
Lawrence Berkeley Natl Lab

Member, Congressional Fellow: Karla A Hagan (01/17 - 12/17)
Northern Virginia Comm Coll

Advisor: Laura H Greene (01/17 - 12/17)
Florida State Univ

Advisor: David Gross (01/17 - 12/17)
Univ of California - Santa Barbara

APS Staff

Staff Advisor
Mark Elsesser (