September 2014 Newsletter

logo-stxIn this issue

Fall 2014 Meeting at Texas A&M University

The Joint 2014 Fall Meeting of the Texas Section APS, Texas Section of the AAPT, and Zone 13 of SPS will be held Friday evening to Sunday noon, October 17-19, in College Station. The meeting is being organized by the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Texas A&M University. The members of the organizing committee are Rupak Mahapatra (Chair), Siu Chin, Peter McIntyre and George Welch. Students who present a paper at the meeting are eligible for presentation awards and to apply for a travel award.
Gray Arrow APS Texas 2014 Fall Meeting website


Abstract submission: September 26

Online registration is available to October 10. Late registration will be handled at the conference at higher rates. Registration will be open Friday evening, October 17, and the opening session will be Saturday morning. Note that one need not be an APS member to register for the meeting. Full registration is $50 but there are significant reductions for students and high school teachers.

Student travel award application: September 26

Students wishing to compete for a presentation award may do so at the Student Presentation Award Application web page. Speakers for plenary sessions are Chris Sorensen, Naomi Halas, Wolfgang Schleich, Darren DePoy, Dr. Alberto Carramiñana, Roy Lacey, and Michael Peskin. Consult the meeting website for more details and travel information. Participants are encouraged to book hotel rooms soon since some of the blocks expire on September 26. A list of suggested hotels is included on the meeting website.

Nominations solicited for the 2014 Hyer Awards

At each fall meeting the TSAPS presents a Robert S. Hyer Research Award for excellence in research to an undergraduate student and to a graduate student. Each award consists of a check for $500 for the student and plaques for both the student and her/his advisor. Robert S. Hyer was a pioneering 19th century physicist in Texas who is remembered for his early work with wireless telegraphs and X-ray equipment as well as being the first president of Southern Methodist University.

All faculty members are invited to submit nominations by October 10th, 2014. All application materials should be sent to and should include:
  1. Name, institutional address, and email address of the nominee and the nominee’s advisor
  2. Abstract of the nominee’s presentation for the meeting at Texas A&M (October 17-19, 2014) or for any other TSAPS meeting in the past two years
  3. Nomination letter
  4. Up to three supporting letters (optional)
  5. Curriculum vitae for the student nominee
  6. Papers or other supporting materials (optional)

Questions about the Hyer Award can be addressed to Professor Harry Swinney,