Postdoctoral Speaker Award

GSNP invites nominations for the GSNP Postdoctoral Speaker Award. This award seeks to recognize the best contributed talk at the APS March Meeting 2020 by a postdoctoral researcher in the area of Statistical and Nonlinear Physics.

Eligible candidates are researchers holding a non-tenure track position at the time of the meeting who have received their Ph.D. degrees no more than 5 years prior to March 2020.

Candidates must be nominated by a senior researcher, such as a mentor, former advisor, or collaborator.

Each nomination must include:

  • A letter from the nominator commenting on the presentation skills of the candidate and the significance of the work in the area of statistical and nonlinear physics.
  • Abstract of the candidate's talk, which should be a verbatim copy of the abstract submitted as a contributed talk to the APS March Meeting*.
  • Candidate’s curriculum vitae.

Nominations should be submitted via this form by Monday, November 4, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. EST.

*The abstract of the talk must also be submitted to the March Meeting as a regular contributed talk by the deadline on October 25, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. EST.

Five finalists will be selected. Each finalist will present their talk twice at the March Meeting: once in its regular session and once in a special session.

The winner will receive a $1,000 award, and the remaining four finalists will each receive a $500 stipend. Prizes will be announced at the GSNP Business meeting. The winner and finalists will each be reimbursed for allowable travel expenses up to $500.

Past Winners and Finalists

Armand Boroman (Yale)
Benjamin Loewe (Syracuse)
Sheng Mao (Princeton)
Dan Sussman (Syracuse)

Winner: Vikram Rathee (Georgetown)

Dibyendu Mandal (UC Berkley)
Oren Raz (U. Maryland)
Matthias Merkel (Syracuse)
Casey Bester (Duke)
Edward Bannigan (Northwestern)

Winner: Matthias Merkel (Syracuse)

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.