GPMFC Student Poster Competition at DAMOP 2018

The Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants (GPMFC) is pleased to announce the finalists for the upcoming GPMFC Student Poster Competition, to be held at the APS DAMOP Meeting in 2018. The winners in each category will receive a $500 cash prize. All finalists will be recognized at the DAMOP banquet.

Atomic clocks and sensors

Julia Cline, JILA, University of Colorado, Boulder, “Superradiant lasing on the millihertz clock transition”

Ross Hutson, JILA, NIST and University of Colorado, Boulder, “Precision measurement and few-body physics with lattice-trapped Fermi-degenerate gases of strontium”

Kon Hunn Leung, Columbia University, “Towards a Molecular Lattice Clock: Magic-Wavelength Vibrational Spectroscopy of Sr2”

Lindsay Sonderhouse, JILA, University of Colorado, Boulder, “Two 87Sr lattice clocks with stability below 10^-16 tau^-1/2”

Fundamental Constants, EDM's and CP Violation

William Cairncross, JILA and University of Colorado, “Towards an order of magnitude improved sensitivity to the electron’s EDM with trapped HfF+”

Ryan Cardman, University of Michigan, “Measurement of the Rydberg constant with cold Rydberg atoms”

Daniel Gochnauer, University of Washington, “Precision Contrast Interferometry with Yb Bose-Einstein condensates for h/m and \alpha”

Maria Simanovskaia, UC Berkeley, “Status and the Future of HAYSTAC: Quantum Enhancement of a Dark Matter Axion Search”

Students submitting DAMOP poster abstracts on precision measurements are eligible to participate in the GPMFC Student Poster Competition.