David Ernst

David Ernst David J. Ernst is Professor of Physics at Vanderbilt University. He graduated with a BS (1965) from MIT and received his PhD (1970) also from MIT. He served as Assistant Professor/Professor at the Centro de Investigacion y des Estudios Avanzados del IPN, Mexico, (1970-72), Research Associate/Instructor (1972-75) at Case Western Reserve University, Assistant Professor/Associate Professor/ Professor (1975-92) at Texas A&M University before moving to Vanderbilt University in 1992. He has held sabbatical positions at the University of Washington (1979-1980) and the Jefferson Laboratory (2000-2001) and held the position of Deutsche Forschunggemeinschaft Professor at the University of Frankfurt (1988-1989). While at Texas A&M, he was Associate Director of the Center for Theoretical Physics (1988-1991), and Interim Director (1990-1991) then co-Director (1991-1992) of the International Institute for Theoretical Physics. At Vanderbilt University, he has been Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy three times (1992-95, 1997-1999, 2002-2004), Associate Dean for Research of the College of Arts and Science (1995-1997), Assistant to the Dean of the College of Arts and Science (1997),  Interim Director of the W. M. Keck Foundation Free Electron Laser Center (1999-2000), and presently directs the Communication of Science and Technology Program. With the APS, he has served on the Nuclear Division program Committee (1983-1985), the Committee on International Scientific Affairs (1999-2003, Chair 2000), the Forum on International Physics (1998-2001, Vice Chair 1998, Chair-Elect 1999, Chair 2000, Past Chair 2001, Chair of the Nominating Committee 1998,1999), Edward A. Bouchet Award Selection Committee (2000,2001,2002), the John Wheatley Award Selection Committee (2003, Chair 2005), and co-Chair of the Task Force on US-African Cooperation (2003-2004) .  He is a co-founder of the National Society of Hispanic Physicists and has served as Secretary and a member of the Board of Directors since 1996. Since 1996, he has organized sessions for the Annual Meeting of the Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS), and since 2003 has been on the organizing committee of the Joint meeting of the National Society of Black Physicists and the National Society of Hispanic Physicists. He was an M. J. Murdock Fellow at the Institute for Nuclear Theory, University of Washington (Fall, 1991). He has served as a consultant at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1983-1995) and at the Los Alamos National Laboratory (1985-2002). He was Director of the Pan-American Association for Physics (1993-2002). He has served on National Science Foundation Panels: Nuclear Theory (2001), Scientists with Disabilities (1997), and Integrated Graduate Education and Research Training (1998,1999). He serves on the International Advisory Committee for the World Laboratory Center for Pan-American Collaboration in Science and Technology, Houston, since 1998; the Condensed Matter Theories Workshops since 1998, and the Centro Internacional para Aplicaciones de Metodos Matematicos, Pueble, Mexico (1995-1998). At the Los Alamos Meson Physics Facility (LAMPF), he served on the Board of Directors of the Users Group (1991-1993, Vice Chair, 1991, Chair 1992, Chair Nominating Committee 1994), on the Program Advisory Committee (1985-1989, Chair EPICS Subcommittee, 1985-1987, Chair Pion Committee, 1987-1989). At LAMPF he also served on the Long Range Planning Committee (co-Chair of the Pion Subcommittee, 1989), co-Chair of the Pion Subcommittee and member of the Executive Committee of the PILAC Proposal Committee (1989), and on the search committee for the Deputy Director for Research (1992). He has also served on the organizing committee for more than thirty international conferences and workshops. He has served on the Board of Trust of the Southeast Universities Research Association, SURA, since 1992, served on the Executive Committee of the Board from 1999-2003 and as Vice-Chair (1999), Chair (200-2001), and Past-Chair (2002-2003) of the Board. With SURA he has also served as Chair of the Jefferson Lab Committee (1999), Chair of the Working Group on Photon Science (1999-2001), and Chair of the Fellowship Program Review Committee (1999) and served on the Jefferson Laboratory Fellowship and Sabbatical Committee (1995, 1997-1999). He presently leads the SURA Minority Serving Institutions (MSI) Program. He is one of the founders and leaders of the Fisk/Vanderbilt Masters/PhD program.