Winter 2017 Newsletter

March Meeting in New Orleans, March 12 - 17

We are looking forward to seeing you in New Orleans.

Short Course: Polymer Colloids, March 11 - 12
Rod Priestly ( and Bob Prud’homme organized this year’s course: “Polymer Colloids: Synthesis, Characterization and Applications.”
Online registration still available.

DPOLY Reception, Sunday, March 12, 5:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Please attend the DPOLY reception, which celebrates our award winners: Monica Olvera de la Cruz (Polymer Physics Prize), Moon Jeong Park (Dillon Medal), Andrew Parnell (lecturer from UK PPG), and Michael Hore (lecturer to UK PPG). The reception will be at the Hotel Mazarin, Queen Anne Courtyard and Cardinal Room, 730 Bienville Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. See you there.

Student Lunch With Experts
Graduate students may sign up to enjoy complimentary box-lunch while participating in an informal and stimulating discussion with an expert on a topic of interest to them. DPOLY tables will be hosted by Richard Register (Princeton) and Jeffrey Meth (duPont), and students are welcome to sign up for these or any other table of their choosing. Sign-up will open Sunday, March 12 at 3:00 p.m., near the APS Registration Desk in Hall I-2. Registration will be on a first-come, first-served basis.
The lunch is Tuesday 12:30 - 2:00 p.m., Convention Center Hall I-1.

The Meeting Program
Thanks to the program committee (chaired by Enrique Gomez) and to all DPOLY members for a full program, with 11 invited sessions and many focus sessions, including
Symposium Honoring Ed Kramer (Sessions A9 and C9), Monday, Room 268.
Polymer Physics - From Academia to Industry and Back, Session A21, chaired by Rohan Hule, Monday, 8:00 - 11:00 a.m., Room 281-282
Soft Tribute to John Cahn (Session P21), Wednesday, 2:30 - 5:30 p.m., Room 281-282.
A mobile app useful for planning your schedule is available.
The DPOLY program booklet is in the mail and is also available online.
DPOLY members from overseas may pick up their hard copy booklets at the membership table.

Awards Symposia. Several Awards symposia are included in the program.
DPOLY/PPG Lecturer, Andrew Parnell, “Self-assembled structural color in nature”, Monday, March 13, 1:39 - 2:15 p.m. (Session B21), Room 281-282
Polymer Physics Prize, Monica Olvera de la Cruz, “Polymer Physics Prize Talk”, Tuesday, March 14, 8:00 - 8:36 a.m. (Session E21), Hall I-1
Frank J. Padden Award Symposium, Tuesday, March 14, 11:15 a.m. - 1:27 p.m. (Session F18), Room 277; the winner will be announced at the Business Meeting.
Dillon Medal, Moon Jeong Park, “Interplay of Transport and Morphology in Nanostructured Ion-Containing Polymers”, Tuesday, March 14, 2:30 - 3:06 p.m. (Session H24), New Orleans Theater C

Business Meeting, Tuesday, 5:45 p.m., Room 281-282.
Please email if you have items for our agenda. Thanks.

NSF Q&A session, Tuesday, 6:45 p.m., Room 281-282.

Poster Session, nearly 150 posters, Wednesday, 11:15 a.m. - 2:15 p.m., Hall J.

APS Journals Plans to Launch New Journal, Physical Review Materials

APS editor Pierre Meystre will discuss and field questions at the Business Meeting (noted above).

Volunteers Needed

DPOLY Membership Table, Monday - Wednesday. Please volunteer (contact Venkat Ganesan, for a one or two hour time slot (8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.) at the membership table. Volunteers will sign up new DPOLY members, distribute program booklets to new and international members, and give away DPOLY logo magnets. It’s a great way to meet people!

UK Lecture Exchange

Andrew Parnell was selected to represent the UK Polymer Physics Group (UK PPG) in recognition of his use of scattering techniques to examine nanostructures that lead to artificial color. He will give an invited presentation, “Self-assembled structural color in nature”, Monday, March 13, 1:39 - 2:15 p.m. (Session B21), Room 281-282.

Michael Hore was selected to represent DPOLY in recognition of excellent modeling and experimental analysis of polymer blends and brushes. He is invited to speak at the 28th biennial meeting of the UK PPG, September 13 - 15, 2017, at Swansea University.

Genzer, Jayaraman, Muthukumar and Hudson Elected

Jan Genzer was elected the new Vice Chair and Arthi Jayaraman was elected the new Member at Large of the Executive Committee. Murugappan Muthukumar is the new Councilor and Steve Hudson continues as Secretary/Treasurer. We look forward to their service to the division. We also thank Al Crosby, Gila Stein, Jane Lipson and Rob Briber for standing for election. (17.2% of DPOLY membership voted.)

Building the DPOLY Program for 2018

Ryan Hayward ( will chair the Program Committee.
Jan Genzer ( will recruit a short course organizer.

Please join the process in building the next meeting.

New Fellows

DPOLY welcomes the following new fellows:

Caruthers, James M. (Purdue University): For substantial and innovative advancements in the physics and nonlinear mechanics of glassy polymers.

Cho, Junhan (Dankook University): For contributions to understanding compressible characteristics and pressure effects of nanostructured polymer systems, and the development of Landau and self-consistent field theories for inhomogeneous polymeric mixtures.

Cicerone, Marcus (NIST -Natl Institute of Stds & Tech): For outstanding contributions to the understanding of the dynamics in glassy materials, demonstrating its importance in the stabilization of protein therapeutics, and the development of broadband CARS microscopy for bioimaging.

Elabd, Yossef (Texas A&M University): For fundamental contributions to transport phenomena in ion-containing polymers.

Keten, Sinan (Northwestern University): For creative and insightful use of molecular dynamics simulations to elucidate mechanisms of deformation and transport in polymeric materials.

Kumaraswamy, Guruswamy (CSIR - National Chemical Laboratory): For opening new routes to templated polymeric structures using mesophases and crystallization, and elucidating their physics.

Ruiz, Ricardo (Western Digital Corporation): For outstanding contributions to the fundamental understanding of directed self-assembly of block copolymer films.

Now Accepting Nominations for APS Fellowship

Please nominate outstanding candidates for fellowship. The mechanism to nominate fellows is described at APS Fellowship Nomination Instructions page. Membership eligibility rules have been changed and the web interface is a bit different this year. Up to 5 members may be selected.

You can check the APS directory to find out if a member is already a fellow.
Due by Thursday, June 1, 2017

ACS Symposium: Simulations of Polymeric Materials: Molecular- to Macro-scale

Brief Description of Topics to be Covered: The length-scales underlying the self-assembly of polymeric materials range from the molecular to macro-scale. In this symposium we highlight simulation methodologies, ranging from atomistic to coarse grained to mesoscopic simulation, to predict macroscopic properties of soft polymeric materials. We include topics ranging from fundamental concepts in polymeric materials to materials design for various applications.

Date/Venue: August 20 - 24, 2017, ACS Washington D.C.
Abstracts due April 7

Symposium Co-Organizers:
Sharon Loverde,
Arthi Jayaraman,
Monica Olvera de la Cruz,

This DPOLY newsletter was edited by Steve Hudson, DPOLY Secretary-Treasurer.