October 2013 Newsletter

October 2013 Newsletter format_pdf

Inside this Issue


November 1 deadline calendarBallot nominations due Friday, November 1, see info about officer responsibilities in our bylaws. More details about nominations and elections below.

November 15 deadline calendarAbstracts for the March meeting are due Friday, November 15. Information about the process can be found on the Abstract Submission web page. When submitting your abstract, please select a suitable focus topic or sorting category to assist the sorters in making a coherent program.

November 15 deadline calendarPadden Award nominations due Friday, November 15. Information about the award can be found on the Frank J. Padden Jr. Award web page. See important details below.

December 15 deadline calendarAPS Outreach proposals due Sunday, December 15. Details of the request for proposals is on the Public Outreach and Informing the Public Grants web page.

Jan 3 deadline calendarChildcare grant applications due Friday, January 3.
Apply on the Child Care Grant web form.

Jan 3 deadline calendarMarch Meeting - early-bird registration deadline Friday, January 3.
(late registration deadline Friday, January 31.)

Feb 7 deadline calendarHotel reservation deadline Friday, February 7.

Karl Freed wins the 2014 Polymer Physics Prize

Karl Freed (University of Chicago) is cited “For outstanding theoretical contributions to the fundamental understanding of the statistics of isolated chains, polymer dynamics, phase behavior of blends and equilibrium polymerization.”

Ryan Hayward wins the 2014 Dillon Medal

Ryan Hayward (University of Massachusetts – Amherst) is cited “For remarkably innovative and creative approaches to the design, realization, and analysis of responsive polymer gels and self-assembled systems.”

The Polymer Physics Prize has been endowed by a generous matching grant from the Dow Chemical Company, and contributions from LG Chemical Company and former Polymer Physics Prize winners. The Dillon Medal is sponsored by Elsevier, publisher of Polymer.

Soft Matter Working Group to Meet in November

The APS has formed a working group to consider the future of soft matter within the APS. Various units were invited to name two representatives to the working group. The DPOLY executive committee solicited input from the membership in July. The DPOLY representatives are Karen Winey (winey@seas.upenn.edu) and Darrin Pochan (Pochan@udel.edu). The other unit representatives of the working group are Daniel Cox, Wolfgang Losert, Sharon Glotzer, Cristina Marchetti, Arshad Kudrolli, Thomas Powers, Bulbul Chakraborty, Eric Weeks, and Robin Selinger. The agenda for the one-day November meeting will be released later this month. The DPOLY executive committee is preparing for this meeting and, as always, your inquiries and comments are welcome.

Short Course

Gary Grest and Dvora Perahia are organizing this year’s DPOLY short course on March 1-2, 2014. The topic is “Multiscale Computational Approaches for Simulating Polymers from Atomistic to Mesoscale.” A description and schedule are available on the DPOLY Short Course web page.


Candidates for Vice-Chair are:
Wesley Burghardt (Northwestern University)
Ali Dhinojwala (University of Akron)

Candidates for Member-at-Large are:
Venkat Ganesan (University of Texas, Austin)
Svetlana Sukhishvili (Stevens Institute of Technology)

Many thanks to the nominating committee (chaired by Rammanan Krishnamoorti and comprising Jan Genzer, Shaw Ling Hsu, Tim Lodge, and Zhen-Gang Wang) for preparing this slate of candidates.

Please forward additional nominations (with supporting signatures from a total of at least 14 DPOLY members) by Friday, November 1, 2013 to Steve Hudson, DPOLY Secretary/Treasurer (stevehudson5@yahoo.com). Candidate bios and statements will be provided when the elections are announced in November.

Padden Nominations

Padden nominations should be submitted by November 15 to Stephen Cheng. Candidates MUST submit their abstracts through the regular APS system (see below), as well as sending it in with the application.
Gray Arrow Frank J. Padden Jr. Award

March Meeting in Denver

The next APS March Meeting will be held March 3 -7 at the Colorado Convention Center in Denver, CO. Kari Dalnoki-Veress (dalnoki@mcmaster.ca) is the DPOLY Program Chair, is working to construct a great program, and encourages you to submit your abstracts.

Session Chairs and Abstract Sorters Needed
Session chairs are sought for the contributed sessions. No experience is necessary and APS will send you guidelines. If you are interested in serving as a session chair, please email Kari Dalnoki-Veress (dalnoki@mcmaster.ca) your contact information (name, institution, mailing address, and email). Also, about 14 volunteers (locals from the area if possible) are needed to help at the Sorters meeting to be held Thursday, December 5, 2013 at APS headquarters in College Park, Maryland. Please contact Kari to make arrangements. (DPOLY has limited funds to help support volunteers’ travel expenses.)

Abstract deadline is November 15.
See details on the Abstract Submission page. When submitting your abstract, please select a suitable focus topic or sorting category to assist the sorters in making a coherent program; see focus topic descriptions and sorting categories.

Need a visa to enter the US?
Helpful info can be found on the APS Meeting Visa Information page. A letter of invitation can be requested online.


This DPOLY newsletter was prepared by: Steve Hudson, Secretary-Treasurer; Amalie Frischknecht, Publicity Committee Chair; Karen Winey, Executive Committee Chair. The articles in this newsletter represent the views of their author(s) and are not necessarily those of the Unit or APS.