Division of Materials Physics

The Division of Materials Physics was established in 1984. Materials Physics applies fundamental condensed matter concepts to complex and multiphase media, including materials of technological interest.

News & Announcements

DMP Summer 2018 Newsletter
The latest DMP newsletter is now available.
Gray Arrow Read Newsletter

Proposed Changes to DMP Bylaws
The DMP Executive Committee has initiated a few proposed changes pertaining to special elections, special ballots, and other updates to the existing Bylaws.
Gray Arrow Read More

Mildred Dresselhauss: 1930-2017
Mildred Dresselhaus of MIT died on Monday, February 20, at the age of 86.
Gray Arrow Read More

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DMP

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

2018 David Adler Lectureship Award in the Field of Materials Physics
Christopher J. Palmstrøm, University of California, Santa Barbara

2018 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
Rodney S. Ruoff, IBS CMCM / UNIST

2017 Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Materials Physics
Deep Jariwala, Northwestern University
Liang Wu, University of California, Berkeley