Southeastern Section

Welcome to the Homepage for The Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society.  The objective of the Section is the advancement and diffusion of knowledge of physics within the Southeastern region of the United States, including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. The Section brings together physicists once a year for a November meeting. Graduate and undergraduate students are always welcome and are encouraged to attend this meeting.

Gray arrow Join APS Now! If you have questions or problems in joining, contact Brad Cox, APS Southeastern Section Membership Coordinator.

Gray arrow Join SESAPS Now! Section membership is FREE to APS members.

News & Announcements

The 2016 winners of the George B. Pegram Award, Jesse W. Beams Award, and Francis G. Slack Award have been announced. The winners are:
George B. Pegram Award: Kent J. Price, Morehead State University
Jesse W. Beams Award: Gabriela Gonzalez, Louisiana State University
Francis G. Slack Award: Cynthia E. Keppel, Hampton University