APS Fellowship

The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognize members who may have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication or made significant and innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. They may also have made significant contributions to the teaching of physics or service and participation in the activities of the Society. Each year, no more than one-half of one percent of the then current membership of the Society are recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow in The American Physical Society.

Fellowship nominations may be submitted by anyone who is a member of the APS in good standing. All members of DPP are strongly encouraged to nominate colleagues whom they consider worthy of this recognition. See the Fellowship nomination information page for guidance on submitting nominations.
Gray arrow DPP Deadline for APS Fellowship Nomination: Monday, April 3, 2017
Gray arrow APS Fellowship Information

APS Fellows Nominated by DPP  

Filter by Year:

Boedo, Jose A. [2016]
University of California, San Diego
Citation: For his ground-breaking contributions to the studies of plasma drifts and intermittent plasma transport in the peripheral region of tokamaks.

Chen, Hui [2016]
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Citation: For pioneering experimental research on relativistic positron generation using ultra-intense short-pulse lasers.

Geddes, Cameron Guy [2016]
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Citation: For research demonstrating the production of high quality electron beams from laser-plasma accelerators.

Gohil, Punit [2016]
General Atomics - San Diego
Citation: For seminal contributions to the physics of low-to-high confinement transitions, developing techniques to reduce its power threshold, identifying transport barrier formation and collapse dynamics in tokamaks, and for international leadership of enduring collaborations that advance fusion science.

Gregori, Gianluca [2016]
University of Oxford
Citation: For exploiting high-power lasers in innovative and novel ways to study the physics of inertial confinement fusion, the properties of warm dense matter as found in the interiors of giant planets and white dwarf stars, and the origin of magnetic fields in the universe.

Hurricane, Omar A. [2016]
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Citation: For visionary leadership in experiments on the National Ignition Facility laser and innovative work in understanding instabilities in high energy density and inertial confinement fusion plasmas leading to the first laboratory demonstration of an alpha-heating-dominated, thermonuclear plasma producing a fusion energy exceeding its total stored energy.

Kline, John L. [2016]
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Citation: For seminal contributions to the understanding and development of hohlraum drivers for inertial confinement fusion and their use for radiation transport, hydrodynamic, and ignition science experiments.

Liu, Yueqiang [2016]
EURATOM/Culham Centre for Fusion Energy
Citation: For fundamental contributions to the theory and modeling of tokamak plasma response to external nonaxisymmetric magnetic field perturbations and physics of the resistive wall mode and for development of the MARS suite of computational tools to support these studies.

Murphy, Anthony [2016]
CSIRO - Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
Citation: For advances in the fundamental understanding of thermal plasmas and translating those advances to society-benefiting technologies.

Spong, Donald A. [2016]
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Citation: For insightful analysis of energetic particle instabilities and confinement in general 3-D toroidal configurations and contributions to the physics optimization of stellarators.

Wygant, John [2016]
University of Minnesota
Citation: For advancing our understanding of energy flows by Alfvén waves and particle acceleration in regions of magnetic reconnection and collisionless shocks and the design and implementation of the space-borne electric field instruments that enabled these studies.

Yamada, Hiroshi [2016]
National Institute for Fusion Science, Nagoya University
Citation: For outstanding contributions and leadership in understanding plasma confinement in stellarators, the attainment of high pressure and 5% beta in a stellarator, and for leadership in international fusion research.

Zohm, Hartmut [2016]
Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik
Citation: For his fundamental contributions to the understanding and control of magneto-hydrodynamic instabilities, the application of electron cyclotron heating and current drive systems on tokamaks, the development of integrated DEMO operating scenarios and for programmatic leadership in fusion research.