APS Fellowship

Gray arrow DPF Deadline for APS Fellowship Nomination: Monday, April 3, 2017
Gray arrow APS Fellowship Information

APS Fellows Nominated by DPF  

Filter by Year:

Aganagic, Mina [2016]
University of California, Berkeley
Citation: For pioneering applications of string dualities to mathematics, including the discoveries of the topological vertex and of refined Chern-Simons theory.

Argyres, Philip [2016]
University of Cincinnati
Citation: For contributions to the study of dualities and nonperturbative dynamics in supersymmetric and conformal quantum field theories.

Bloom, Ken [2016]
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Citation: For the characterization of the top quark using data from Tevatron Collider and the Large Hadron Collider, and for leadership in computing for the Compact Muon Solenoid experiment.

Csáki, Csaba [2016]
Cornell University
Citation: For wide-ranging contributions to theories for physics beyond the standard model, from cosmology to electroweak symmetry breaking.

Davies, Christine [2016]
University of Glasgow
Citation: For innovations in lattice quantum chromodynamics and their many applications to particle physics phenomenology.

Dominguez, Aaron [2016]
Catholic University of America
Citation: For leading contributions to measurements of B hadron properties for top quark physics, and for the search and discovery of the Higgs boson, as well as leadership in the design, construction, and use of silicon tracking detectors at the Large Electron-Positron Collider, the Tevatron Collider, and the Large Hadron Collider.

Fox, Patrick [2016]
Citation: For phenomenological and theoretical developments in physics beyond the standard model, particularly in connecting searches at colliders with those at dark matter detection experiments.

Hill, Christopher [2016]
The Ohio State University
Citation: For contributions to silicon tracking detectors at hadron colliders and for the development of novel analysis techniques, particularly those used in the searches for beyond the standard model particles with long lifetimes.

Karch, Andreas [2016]
University of Washington
Citation: For pioneering work in understanding the cosmology and particle physics implications of new dimensions, and for using gauge gravity duality to model strongly coupled systems including theories of hadrons, heavy ion collisions, condensed matter systems, and quantum mechanical entanglement.

Lang, Karol [2016]
University of Texas, Austin
Citation: For contributions to knowledge of neutrino oscillations and interactions through his technical work on the Main Injector Neutrino Oscillation Search programs at Fermilab and the SuperNEMO experiment in Europe, and by his leadership service and co-spokesperson roles for these international collaborations.

Oser, Scott M. [2016]
University of British Columbia
Citation: For scientific and technical leadership in the study of neutrino oscillations in the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory, K2K, and T2K experiments.

Roney, J. Michael [2016]
University of Victoria
Citation: For contributions to lepton flavor violation measurements, detailed studies of the tau lepton, precision measurements of the electroweak interaction, and leadership of the BABAR experiment at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.

Savard, Pierre [2016]
University of Toronto
Citation: For important contributions to studies of top quarks, Higgs boson and physics beyond the standard model in hadron-hadron collisions, and for his prominent role in the ATLAS discovery of the Higgs boson, leading the analysis effort that observed the Higgs boson decay into W-boson pairs.

Shanahan, Peter N. [2016]
Citation: For on-going leadership in neutrino oscillation experiments, and leadership of the international NOvA collaboration.

Somalwar, Sunil V. [2016]
Rutgers University
Citation: For the development of innovative studies of fundamental symmetries including multi-lepton searches for supersymmetry and extended Higgs sectors at the Tevatron Collider and Large Hadron Collider, and tests of charge-parity and charge-parity-time violation with neutral kaon beams.

Whiteson, Daniel [2016]
University of California, Irvine
Citation: For leadership in searches for new physics and early studies of top quark mass and cross-section at the Tevatron Collider and Large Hadron Collider, both experimental and phenomenological, particularly searches for dark matter; for innovative applications of ideas from machine learning; and for nontraditional efforts in outreach.

Willocq, Stéphane [2016]
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Citation: For contributions to the physics of heavy flavor in electron-positron collisions; searches for new vector bosons in proton-proton collisions at the highest energies at the Large Hadron Collider; and for exceptional leadership of the exotic physics and technical groups during the first data-collection with the ATLAS experiment.

Zurek, Kathryn [2016]
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Citation: For innovative contributions to particle phenomenology, especially in the development of models of asymmetric dark matter and hidden valley particles.