Division of Particles & Fields

The objective of the Division is the study of fundamental particles and fields, their structure, their interactions and interrelationships, the design and development of high energy accelerators, and the design and development of instrumentation techniques for high energy physics.

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DPF

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

2017 J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics
Gordon L. Kane, University of Michigan
Howard E. Haber, University of California, Santa Cruz
John F. Gunion, University of California, Davis
Sally Dawson, Brookhaven National Laboratory

2017 J.J. and Noriko Sakurai Dissertation Award in Theoretical Physics
Ian Moult, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2017 Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics
Tracy R. Slatyer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2017 Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators
Anton Piwinski, DESY
James Bjorken, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center Laboratory
Sekazi Mtingwa, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2017 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics
Michel Della Negra, CERN
Peter Jenni, CERN and Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg
Tejinder Virdee, Imperial College London

2016 Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics
Adish Pradeep Vartak, University of California, San Diego


DPF Events at the April Meeting
DPF is sponsoring 42 sessions at the APS April Meeting 2017, including 16 invited sessions.
Gray Arrow View Events

The 2017 DPF Election is coming soon. View the candidates' resumes and statements for Vice Chair, Member-at-Large, and Early Career Member.
Gray Arrow View candidates

Report of the DPF Committee on DOE Comparative Reviews

APS Multidivisional Neutrino Study - A Joint Study on the Future of Neutrino Physics: The Neutrino Matrix

DPF Brochure

DPF Brochu<br />re
Higer Resolution