APS Fellowship

Fellowship in the American Physical Society is a great honor. In accordance with the APS Constitution,

"there shall be elected to Fellowship only such Members who have contributed to the advancement of physics by independent, original research or who have rendered some other special service to the cause of the sciences."

All DCP members are invited to nominate deserving colleagues as potential Fellows of the APS. Information on the APS Fellowship Program is available from the APS Fellowship page and nomination forms can also be downloaded. Nominations for the Division of Chemical Physics are due in February of each year.

Gray arrow DCP Deadline for APS Fellowship Nomination: Monday, April 3, 2017
Gray arrow APS Fellowship Information

APS Fellows Nominated by DCP  

Filter by Year:

Bittner, Eric R. [2016]
University of Houston
Citation: For developing theoretical and computational descriptions of quantum dynamics in molecular systems, especially for their use in understanding the migration of energy and charge in molecular electronic excited states.

Chernyak, Vladimir [2016]
Wayne State University
Citation: For seminal theoretical contributions to nonequilibrium statistical mechanics of open quantum systems, many-body theory of electronic excitations, optoelectronic materials, optimal control, networks and power systems, and coherent femtosecond nonlinear spectroscopy.

Merkt, Frédéric [2016]
ETH - Zurich
Citation: For outstanding contributions to the research of chemical physics, spectroscopy, and quantum dynamics of atomic and molecular Rydberg states and the related ions.

Parker, David H. [2016]
Radboud University Nijmegen
Citation: For development of velocity map imaging and applications of ion and electron imaging to a range of problems in stereochemistry and photodissociation dynamics.

Rodgers, Mary T. [2016]
Wayne State University
Citation: For outstanding contributions to quantitative thermodynamic and structural characterization of noncovalent cation-pi interactions, including the DNA i-motif using guided ion beam tandem mass spectrometry and infrared multiple photon dissociation, and for extensive service to the community.

Schmuttenmaer, Charles A. [2016]
Yale University
Citation: For the development of time-resolved terahertz spectroscopy and its insightful applications to the far-infrared and charge transfer properties of liquids, semiconductors, and nanoparticles.

Wang, Xue-Bin [2016]
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Citation: For outstanding contributions to probing the structure and energetics of a broad range of negative ions and their solvation, important to condensed phase chemical physics.

Wu, Jianzhong [2016]
University of California, Riverside
Citation: For outstanding contributions to the development of classical density functional theory for inhomogeneous fluids and polymeric systems.