Four Corners Section

The Four Corners Section has a strong commitment to support the work of physics students and to give them opportunities to present their research and to meet physicists in our region. To that end, we offer small, regional meetings of limited expense and activities that can reach more APS members and potential members, including students and industry physicists.

Geographically the Four Corners Section includes the states of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah. Four Corners is the point of orthogonal intersection of the borders of these four states, the only point common to four states in the United States.

Section meetings will unite participants from colleges, universities, industry, and government laboratories. In addition, the section will contribute to greater awareness of regional activities in physics through its website and provide programs for public outreach.

Call for Suggestions

Please email suggestions for the operation of the Section, meeting planning, or other matters to fourcorners{at} Please suggest meeting focus topics if you think they would be appropriate, possible invited speakers and public outreach speakers, and any other ideas for Section meetings.

News & Announcements

Help Endow the Harry Lustig Award
The Four Corners Section (4CS) has established the Harry Lustig Award to recognize outstanding graduate student research performed at a Four Corners institution. The annual award consists of a $1,000 stipend, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, and travel to that year’s 4CS meeting. You are invited to join in honoring Harry Lustig and supporting graduate students by visiting the campaign webpage.

Outstanding Student Presentations
There were 20 outstanding student presentation awards given at the 2016 Joint Meeting of the Four Corners and Texas Sections of the American Physical Society in Las Cruces, NM.
Gray Arrow Award Recipients

Student Opportunities

Student Internship Programs and Summer Jobs in the Four Corners Section Area

Student Support Fund