September 2015 Newsletter

logo-stxIn this issue

Fall 2015 Meeting at Baylor University

The Joint 2015 Fall Meeting of the Texas Section APS, Texas Section of the AAPT, and Zone 13 of SPS will be held Thursday evening to Saturday noon, October 29-31, in the Baylor Sciences Building, Waco, TX.

Baylor University Sciences BuildingThe meeting is being organized by the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Baylor University. The members of the organizing committee are Dwight Russell (Chair), Greg Benesh, Gerald Cleaver, Truell Hyde, and Walter Wilcox. Students who present a paper at the meeting are eligible for presentation awards and to apply for a travel award. Please consult the meeting website for more details and travel information. A link to local motels and hotels is included on the meeting website. A follow-up final newsletter listing speakers and talk descriptions will be sent out soon.

Gray Arrow APS Texas 2015 Fall Meeting website

Deadlines and Banquet

Abstract submission: October 9

Online registration is available to October 16. Late registration will be handled at the conference at higher rates. Registration will be open Thursday evening, October 29, and the opening session will be Friday morning. Note that one need not be an APS member to register for the meeting. Full registration is $60 but there are significant reductions for students and high school teachers.

Student travel award application: October 2

Students wishing to compete for a presentation award may do so at the Student Presentation Award Application web page.

The conference banquet will be held at the Baylor McLane Stadium on Friday, October 30. The attendance will be limited to 200, and the deadline for registration is October 16. The banquet speaker is Dr. James Kakalios from the University of Minnesota, who will be presenting an entertaining talk about the physics of our favorite superheros.

Nominations Solicited for the 2015 Hyer Awards

 At each fall meeting the TSAPS presents a Robert S. Hyer Research Award for excellence in research to an undergraduate student and to a graduate student. Each award consists of a check for $500 for the student and plaques for both the student and her/his advisor.

Robert S. Hyer was a pioneering 19th century physicist in Texas who is remembered for his early work with wireless telegraphs and X-ray equipment as well as being the first president of Southern Methodist University.

All faculty members are invited to submit nominations by October 16th, 2015. All application materials should be sent to and should include:
  1. Name, institutional address, and email address of the nominee and the nominee’s advisor
  2. Abstract of the nominee’s presentation for the meeting at Baylor (October 29-31, 2015) or for any other TSAPS meeting in the past two years
  3. Nomination letter
  4. Up to three supporting letters (optional)
  5. Curriculum vitae for the student nominee
  6. Papers or other supporting materials (optional)

Questions about the Hyer Award can be addressed to Dr. Peter McIntyre,