Francis Slack Award

The Francis G. Slack Award was created by the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society to honor Excellence in Service to Physics in the Southeast. The award is named for Francis G. Slack, a distinguished Vanderbilt University scientist who was a charter member of the Southeastern Section and who contributed significantly to its development. The award recognizes those who have worked unselfishly to a) bring about significant new research facilities in the region, b) significantly strengthen and raise the stature of particular departments of physics in the region, c) provide significant leadership and work to strengthen and build the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society, Sigma Pi Sigma, the Society of Physics Students and other regional organizations, d) develop physics consortia of universities and/or research institutions that have benefited the region and the nation, and e) carry out other service and administrative activities such as organizing major conferences held in the region, international exchanges, public outreach to K-12 and so forth.

Nomination Information

Nominations for each award should be sent to the award committee chair by August 26th in the form of a single pdf file. (If electronic submission is not possible, please send four copies of the nomination.) A complete nomination consists of a CV, a nominating letter and up to three supporting letters (a maximum of two pages each). At least one of the letters should be from an institution other than the nominee's home institution. No other supporting documents are needed, but may be included. We particularly encourage you to think of potential women and minority candidates. Nominations will be considered active for three years, though updating materials for nominees not chosen in the prior year is encouraged. Past winners are listed below.

Send Materials to:
Chair: Dave Gaskell
Jefferson Lab

Members of the Slack Award Committee:
Chair: Dave Gaskell, Jefferson Lab.,; Jeff Blackmon, Louisiana State University,; Megan Connors, Georgia State University,; and Mohammad Ahmed, North Carolina Central University and TUNL, SESAPS Vice-Chair (non-voting),


2018: Ken C. McGill, Sr. Georgia College
2017: Hari Areti, Old Dominion University and Jefferson Laboratory
2016: Cynthia E. Keppel, Hampton University
2015: Gregory S. Boebinger, Florida State University
2014: Edward F. Zganjar, Louisiana State University
2013: Gail Dodge, Old Dominion University
2012: Hermann Grunder, emeritus director JLAB
2011: David Ernst, Vanderbilt University
2010: Kirby Kemper, Florida State University
2009: Eugen Merzbacher, University of North Carolina
2008: Laurence Cain, Davidson College
2007: Ronald E. Mickens, Clark Atlanta University
2006: Jerry P. Draayer, Louisiana State University
2005: Lee Riedinger, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
2004: Ernest Jones, Vanderbilt University
2003: William Hamilton, Louisiana State University; Warren Johnson, Louisiana State University
2002: Myron S. McCay, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
2001: Howard E. Carr, Auburn University
2000: Joseph Hamilton, Vanderbilt University; Worth Seagondollar, North Carolina State University