William Fowler Award

The William Fowler Award for Distinguished Research in Physics is to honor those members of the Society with appreciable connections to the State of Ohio at some time in their life, who have done outstanding research in physics. It is named in honor of William Fowler who won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983 for his work on stellar nucleosynthesis. Past recipients of this award have been:

  • William Fowler, Caltech, Spring 1986
  • Leslie Foldy, University of Toledo, Fall 1989
  • Clifford Heer, Ohio State University, Fall 1990
  • K. Narahari Rao, Ohio State University, Spring 1993
  • Bunny Clark, Ohio State University, Fall 1999
  • Donald Reynolds, Air Force Research Labs (WPAFB), Fall 1999
  • Ron Winters, Denison University, Fall 2002
  • Phil Taylor, Case Western Reserve University, Fall 2003
  • Arthur Epstein, Ohio State University, Spring 2004
  • Gary Steigman, Ohio State University, Spring 2004
  • Ernst von Meerwall, University of Akron, Spring 2011
  • Howard Jackson, University of Cincinnati, Spring 2012
  • Robert Brown, Case Western Reserve University, Spring 2014
  • David Look, Wright State University, Spring 2014
  • Eric Baer, Case Western Reserve University, Fall 2015
  • Robert W. Collins, The University of Toledo, Fall 2018

Gray arrow OSAPS Award Nomination Form

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.